The Asian Le Mans Sprint Cup kicks off

Next weekend will see the first round of the newly created Asian Le Mans Sprint Cup take place at the recently resurfaced Sepang international circuit.

#9 Jagonya Ayam with Eurasia Oreca 03R Nissan: Sean Gelael, Antonio Giovinazzi
2016 LMP3 champions David Cheng, Ho-Pin Tung, Thomas Laurent, DC Racing
#1 DC Racing Ligier JSP3: David Cheng, Ho-Pin Tung, Thomas Laurent
Ambiance in parc ferme
#9 Jagonya Ayam with Eurasia Oreca 03R Nissan: Sean Gelael, Antonio Giovinazzi
 #3 Clearwater Racing McLaren 650S GT3: Weng Sun Mok, Rob Bell, Keita Sawa
#21 Avelon Formula Wolf Racing GB08: Denis Lian, Giorgio Maggi
#89 Team AAI Adess 03: Alex Kapadia, Masataka Yanagida, Lam Yu, Chen Siyu
#99 Eurasia Motorsport Oreca 03R Nissan: William Lok, Tack Sung Kim, Richard Bradley
#9 Jagonya Ayam with Eurasia Oreca 03R Nissan: Sean Gelael, Antonio Giovinazzi
#21 Team Avelon Formula Wolf GB08: Denis Lian, Guglielmo Belotti

Taking place over three days, from the 27th to the 29th of May, the Asian Le Mans Sprint Cup will be held jointly with the first 2016 Malaysia Championship Series event, and will see racing from LM P3, CN and GT Cup cars.

With a provisional 12 car entry list over the three classes, including some familiar faces from the Asian Le Mans Series, the series is off to a good start, with more entries already confirmed and some others planned for the 2nd and 3rd events later in the year.

LM P3 will see the return of Asian LMS Champions DC Racing, entering their Ligier JSP3, as well as Team AAI who are returning with one of their ADESS 03 cars, with Junsan Chen and Ollie Millroy announced as drivers.

Also joining us in the LM P3 class is Asian LMS familiar Eurasia Motorsport with a Ligier JSP3 that will be driven by Aidan Read, and Nexus Infinity who have moved from GT to enter an ADESS 03.

Our fifth entry in LM P3 is Philippine team PRT Racing who will enter a Ginetta LMP3, the first time this car has participated in an Asian LMS event. It will be driven by Ate de Jong and Charlie Robertson.

We have three entries announced for the CN class – Avelon Formula, Atlantic Racing Team, and PS Racing. Denis Lian will be returning to pilot the Avelon Formula Wolf Racing GB08, having taken part in the Asian Le Mans Series earlier this year. Atlantic Racing Team are also returning with their Wolf Racing GB08. Newcomers to the Asian LMS, PS Racing, with Sebastien Mailleux and Neric Wei announced as drivers, will be entering a Ligier JS 53.

The GT Cup class has four entries – Team Lotus HK are coming with three cars, two Lotus Evora GTC, with Robert Webb and Anthony Chan driving one each, and one Lotus Exige Cup R that will be raced by Eric Wong. Team NZ are entering their Porsche GT3 Cup, and have announced Graeme Dowsett and John Curran as their drivers.

Cyrille Taesch Wahlen, Asian Le Mans Managing Director: “Only four and a half months after the Asian Le Mans Sprint Cup was announced it is all rather encouraging. I am glad we have such a combination of newcomers and Asian LMS teams that are supporting our new series. Even if the numbers are not spectacular yet, we have a good variety of entries, and for the first time there will be three models of LMP3 cars competing in Asia. I really would like to thank all those who have already committed to our first event. Of course we knew we would be missing some cars for Round 1 but the interest is there and we have to keep building on this.”

ACO racing pyramid in Asia

Reserved for LMP3, CN and GT Cup cars, the Asian Le Mans Sprint Cup has been set up to be the first step of the ACO racing pyramid in Asia. It’s a great platform for teams and drivers to take their first steps in prototype racing and the ACO environment, with taking part in the 24 Hours of Le Mans the ultimate goal. The champions in each category will get a free entry into the 2016-2017 Asian Le Mans Series.

The weekend will see two free practice sessions, two qualifying sessions, and two one-hour races, one on Saturday 28th May and one on Sunday 29th May.

Asian Le Mans


KCMG culminates Asian Le Mans 2015/2016 season with GTAm crown

Wineurasia Motorsport on top after Free Practice