Giovinazzi, Gelael take second win as Race Performance clinches title

Antonio Giovinazzi and Sean Gelael secured a second successive Asian Le Mans Series win in the season finale at Sepang, as Race Performance wrapped up the title.

Nicolas Leutwiler and Oliver Webb took their Oreca 03R LMP2 to second place, 1m43s down on Giovinazzi and Gelael, to seal overall honours as nearest rivals Eurasia Motorsport failed to finish.

It was a second race win in succession however for Eurasia's Jagonya Ayam-backed car, with GP2 drivers Giovinazzi and Gelael maintaing an 100 percent record of success in the championship after winning first time out at Buriram earlier in the month.

Algarve Pro Racing dropped back from pole to complete the podium, with Michael Munemann, Dean Koutsoumidis and James Winslow behind the wheel of the Ligier JS P2.

DC Racing once again took honours in the LMP3 category, David Cheng, Ho-Pin Tung and Thomas Laurent making it four out of four wins for the team and defeating both Team AAI entries.

The GT class title went to Clearwater Racing, with Weng Sun Mok, Rob Bell and Keita Sawa taking the Singaporean team's McLaren 650 GT3 to third in class.

Absolute Racing (Jeffrey Lee/Alessio Picariello/Christopher Mies) meanwhile gave the new Audi R8 LMS car its first win in class, ahead of Team AAI's #91 BMW Z4 GT3 (Jun-San Chen/Ollie Millroy/Nobuteru Taniguchi).

Both Race Performance and Clearwater Racing will get an invite to this year's Le Mans 24 Hours in their respective categories for their title success.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Asian Le Mans
Event Sepang
Track Sepang International Circuit
Drivers Rob Bell , Keita Sawa , Antonio Giovinazzi , Sean Gelael , Mok Weng Sun , Oliver Webb , Nicolas Leutwiler
Teams Race Performance , Clearwater Racing
Article type Race report