Springfield factsheet

RACE: PAR-A-DICE 100, Sunday August 19 TRACK: Illinois State Fairgrounds, 1-mile clay oval LOCATION: Springfield, Illinois DISTANCE: 100 Miles (100 laps) SANCTION: ARCA SERIES: Event ...

RACE: PAR-A-DICE 100, Sunday August 19
TRACK: Illinois State Fairgrounds, 1-mile clay oval
LOCATION: Springfield, Illinois
DISTANCE: 100 Miles (100 laps)
SERIES: Event #17 of the 2001 ARCA RE/MAX Series

SCHEDULE: Sat, Aug 18: Pre-Registration, Ramada Inn, 625 E St Joseph, Springfield from 6 PM -- 8 PM Sun, Aug 19: Practice 9 AM, Old Milwaukee Pole Award Qualifying 11 AM, Racing begins 1 PM

POSTED AWARDS: $110,673 in prize, point and contingency money

ARCA OFFICIAL COMPANIES: RE/MAX International Inc, Damon RV, Featherlite Trailers, Hoosier Racing Tires, Racing Electronics, 76 Racing Gas.

ARCA OFFICIAL PRODUCTS: Amerex Fire Suppression Systems, Amkus Rescue Tools, Auto Value Parts Stores, Cloyes Gear & Products, Cornwell Quality Tools, Earl's Performance Products, Fastlane Footwear, Fast Track High Performance Driving School, Flowmaster Mufflers, Harris Torches & Regulators, Hawk Brake, Holley HP Carbs, K&N Filters, K&N Oil Filters, Landrum Spring Service, Lincoln Electric Welders, Magnum Police Equipment, Motive Gear, National Pork Producers Council, Old Milwaukee Beer, QuicShine 99, RJS Uniforms, S-W Scales by Intercomp.

PARTICIPATING COMPANIES: ATI Dampers, Auto Meter Instruments, Bilstein Shocks, BSR Racing Products, Carrera Shocks, Clevite Engine Parts, CV Products, Dayco Belts & Hoses, Edelbrock, Ford Motor Co., Gatorade, Hedman Hedders, Hoosier Performance Tire, Hutcherson-Pagan, Jacobs Electronics, JE Pistons, Leading Edge Race Cars, Loctite Corporation, Lowe Lug Nuts, Maurtco Powder Coating, MSD Ignition, Nelson Specialties, Oceans Resorts, Ohlins Shocks, Penske Racing Shocks, Pro Cylinder Heads, Pro Shocks, Quarter Master, Racecollectables.com, Raceline Precision Products, Reed Cams & Carburetors, Rhyne Racing Engines, Ringers Resources, RJS Racing Equipment, 76 Performance Products, Simpson Race Products, Thermo-Tec Header Wrap, Tilton Engineering, Victor-Reinz Gaskets, Wallace Race Car Lettering.

TELEVISION: Speedvision -- Airs Aug 25 at 9 PM; Aug 26 at 2 AM; Aug 27 at 12 noon. All times Eastern.

Qualifying -- Bob Hill, 1995, 33.546 (107.315 mph)
Race -- Bobby Bowsher, 1990, 90.000 mph

NOTES OF INTEREST: Fresh from the 1.33-mile concrete Nashville Superspeedway, the world's most versatile racing tour is headed back to its roots. Born on the dirt in 1953, the ARCA RE/MAX warriors next visit the 1-mile dirt Illinois State Fairgrounds oval in Springfield for this Sunday's (Aug 19) PAR-A-DICE 100. The PAR-A-DICE 100 is the largest sporting event in the state capital city of Springfield. This year's PAR-A-DICE 100 will be the 49th ARCA RE/MAX Series event held on a clay oval since 1974, and 19th ARCA event on the Springfield mile since the series first raced there in 1983. Past ARCA RE/MAX winners at Springfield include Bob Keselowski 4, Dean Roper 3, Bobby Bowsher & Tim Steele 2, and Bill Baird, Bob Brevak, Bob Hill, Bobby Jacks, Frank Kimmel, Ken Schrader and Billy Thomas all with 1. Dean Roper, currently entered in this year's classic, is the all-time winningest ARCA driver on dirt since 1974 with 9 victories at Springfield, DuQuoin and Terre Haute. Bob Hill, former ARCA winner on dirt, is the all-time ARCA dirt pole-winner since 1974 with 7 including the one-lap record at Springfield. Defending champion and current point leader Frank Kimmel is the defending race champion. This year's event marks the first appearance of 3rd-generation driver Jason Jarrett to Springfield. It will also mark Jarrett's first start on dirt. In addition, Mokena IL veteran/favorite Bob Strait (16-time ARCA RE/MAX winner) returns to ARCA RE/MAX competition in Springfield. Strait hasn't raced since the 01 Daytona ARCA 200 opener in February. After 18 ARCA RE/MAX events at Springfield, only 4 have been won from the pole; Bob Keselowski in 1987, Bob Brevak in 1990, Bob Hill in 1994 and Ken Schrader in 1998.

POINTS: 1) Frank Kimmel 4470; 2) Jason Jarrett 3470; 3) Andy Belmont 3455; 4) Tim Steele 3340; 5) Ron Cox 3250; 6) Norm Benning 3020; 7) Chuck Weber 2950; 8) Todd Bowsher 2930; 9) Donny Morelock 2900; 10) Robert Burroughs 1900.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series ARCA
Drivers Ken Schrader , Frank Kimmel , Andy Belmont , Robert Burroughs , Chuck Weber , Jason Jarrett , Donny Morelock , Tim Steele , Ron Cox , Todd Bowsher , Norm Benning , Bill Baird
Teams Team Penske , CIP