Shady Bowl race report

DeGraff OH, 8-19-00 - There was only one piece missing from defending ARCA Lincoln Welders Truck Series champion Bill Withers' program - a victory. Withers, who won the inaugural title in '99 without a win, finally filled the gap. The Columbus,...

DeGraff OH, 8-19-00 - There was only one piece missing from defending ARCA Lincoln Welders Truck Series champion Bill Withers' program - a victory. Withers, who won the inaugural title in '99 without a win, finally filled the gap. The Columbus, Ohio veteran had apparently grown tiresome of his consistent and conservative nature and charged ahead with a vengeance Saturday night at Shady Bowl Speedway to score his career-first ARCA Truck Series triumph.

For Withers, it was his first feature win of any kind in more than a decade. "It feels great that's for sure," said an emotional winner in victory lane. "We haven't won a feature since 1987. We were thrilled with our championship last year but we were getting tired of finishing second and third everywhere. We knew we were always good enough to win but we just couldn't get there. But it sure feels great to be here. I want to thank my sponsors Mannings USA and Hall Electronics, the whole crew and my engine builder Bud Wacholz for the great engines. We could really get use to this."

Jeff Wichmann, in the Midwest Metals Supply Ford, hustled home second while Tully Esterline, who recovered from a blown engine the night before at Winchester, trailed tightly in third in the Spangler Candy Company Chevy. Michael Carter, who pulled the all-nighter putting his machine back together after a crash at Winchester the night before, finished fourth the first truck one lap down. Kyle Witwer, in the Kelley Automotive Group-Witwer Racing Chevy, completed the top five.

Johnny Witham, in the Pate Manufacturing-Fab Shop Ford, led at the onset from the pole after establishing a new one-lap track record earlier. Witham appeared to be the man to beat until the Hamilton, Ohio driver broke a rear end just 12 laps in. Witham, after a lengthy stay on pit road for repairs, returned in time to muster up a 10th place finish. Chad Guinn then took control and led for 37 circuits before his oil pump failed sending the Erie, Michigan driver pitside for good after completing 51 laps. With Guinn gone from the line-up, Troy Marciniak took his turn in the top-spot and led seven laps until he broke a right rear wheel. The incident initiated a three-car accident that eliminated not only Marciniak, but Jack Weethee and Bobby Marvin as well. From there, Withers, as always in a position to win, was next in line and led the remaining 44 laps to hang on for the well-deserved payoff.

Witham won the Hoosier Tire Pole Award while Marciniak was credited with the Cloyes Gear Halfway Leader honors. Bob Beringer won the Ed & Company Hard Charger Award for advancing the most positions, from 17th to seventh. The ARCA Lincoln Welders Truck Series will next appear at Plymouth Speedway in Plymouth, Indiana on Sunday, August 27.

<pre> 2000 ARCA LINCOLN WELDERS TRUCK SERIES EVENT #13 Shady Bowl Speedway, DeGraff OH, 8-19-00 Official Results


1 3 57 Bill Withers/Columbus OH Mannings USA-Hall Electronics Ford 100 Running 2 4 19 Jeff Wichmann/Mason OH Midwest Metals & Supply Ford 100 Running 3 6 10 Tully Esterline/Pettisville OH Spangler Candy Company Chevrolet 100 Running 4 11 44 Michael Carter Jr/Highland MI Carter Racing Chevrolet 99 Running 5 15 18 Kyle Witwer/Fort Wayne IN Kelley Automotive Group-Witwer Racing Chevrolet 99 Running 6 13 77 Todd Braun/Winamac IN Braun Auto Group-Two Guy Mechanical Ford 98 Running 7 17 21 Bob Beringer/Toledo OH Mississippi BBQ Sauce Chevrolet 95 Running 8 8 98 Dave Reeb/Pataskala OH Accurate Logistics Ford 82 Tire 9 7 6 Robbin Slaughter/Columbus OH Carmen's Vacuum-Napa Auto Parts Ford 81 Engine 10 1 5 Johnny Witham/Hamilton OH Pate Manufacturing-Fab Shop Ford 61 Running 11 5 8 Troy Marciniak/Spring Lake MI Marciniak Motorsports-A&A Manufacturing Chevrolet 56 Accident 12 9 55 Jack Weethee/Grove City OH Weethee Builders-Amerihost Inns Ford 56 Accident 13 10 76 Bobby Marvin/Columbus OH Ed & Company-Stat Express Delivery Ford 56 Accident 14 2 4 Chad Guinn/Erie MI Sonic Expediting Ford 51 Oil Pump 15 16 9 Stan Maitlen/Greenville OH ARC Abrasives-GSI-Scoreboards-Meredith Ford 51 Ignition 16 14 00 Mark Otting/Plainwell MI Otting Racing Ford 50 Transmssn 17 12 16 Joseph Wormcastle/Fort Wayne IN Witwer Racing-Votaw Electric Chevrolet 21 Accident 18 18 17 Randy Kopka/Francesville IN Braun Auto Group-Braun Seating Ford 8 Electrical

HOOSIER TIRE POLE AWARD: Johnny Witham 14.000 seconds NTR LAP LEADERS: Witham 1-12 (12); Guinn 13-49 (37); Marciniak 50-56 (7); Withers 57-100 (44)

SPECIAL AWARDS Revenge Pole-Win Award: None Cloyes Gear Halfway Leader Award: Troy Marciniak Hawk Best Brake of the Race Award: Jeff Wichmann Ed & Company Hard Charger Award: Bob Beringer RJS Safety Belt Award: Jeff Wichmann Brooks Racing Tire & Wheel Award: Chad Guinn, Bill Withers Diamond Wheels Award: Robbin Slaughter King Wheels Award: Joseph Wormcastle

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series ARCA
Drivers Michael Carter