Series notebook 2008-12-01

ARCA RE/MAX Series Weekly Notes Package Monday, December 01, 2008 Penske Racing's Tim Cindric to Serve as VIP/Guest of Honor at Championship Awards Banquet Tim Cindric, President of Penske Racing, will serve as a VIP/Guest of Honor at the...

ARCA RE/MAX Series Weekly Notes Package
Monday, December 01, 2008

Penske Racing's Tim Cindric to Serve as VIP/Guest of Honor at Championship Awards Banquet

Tim Cindric, President of Penske Racing, will serve as a VIP/Guest of Honor at the ARCA RE/MAX Series Championship Awards Banquet at the Northern Kentucky Convention Center in Covington, Kentucky, on Saturday evening, December 6th.

The ARCA RE/MAX Series has enjoyed a long relationship with Penske Racing, dating back to the 1980s when ARCA began racing at Michigan Int'l Speedway, which was owned by Penske at the time, and including the popular "ABC" plan in which Penske's development driver, Ryan Newman, used ARCA, Busch and Cup Series races as a stepping stone to a full time racing career. Most recently, Penske Racing has fielded a driver development program through long-time ARCA RE/MAX Series team Cunningham Motorsports and signed 2008 ARCA RE/MAX Series Champion Justin Allgaier to drive the No. 12 Dodge in the NASCAR Nationwide Series in 2009.

ARCA RE/MAX Series Drivers Among 2008 SPEED Performance Award Contenders

SPEED opened the final three categories of its Third Annual SPEED Performance Awards for online fan voting Monday, December 1st, highlighted by the Racer Magazine Rookie of the Year award. Contenders include stock car rookies Joey Logano and Scott Speed, both of whom competed in the ARCA RE/MAX Series in 2008.

The ARCA RE/MAX Series is also represented in the "Temper Temper" category for the Speed/Stenhouse battle at Toledo Speedway in October. The video is entitled "Speed Loses Title." To vote, fans can visit (keyword: Performance). Voting closes at midnight on Dec. 14.

Reigning ARCA RE/MAX Series Champ in the Running for Champion of Champions Award

2008 ARCA RE/MAX Series Champion Justin Allgaier is among 22 finalists for the sixth annual Economaki Champion of Champions award presented by Speedway Motorsports, Inc. The 22 contenders will be cut to ten finalists on Wednesday, December 3rd.

Current finalists include Allgaier (ARCA RE/MAX Series), Johnny Benson (NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series), Dale Blaney (All Star Circuit of Champions), Clint Bowyer (NASCAR Nationwide Series), Ted Christopher (NASCAR Whelen Modified Series), Jerry Coons, Jr. (USAC Silver Crown, USAC National Sprint Car Series), Jeg Coughlin (NHRA Pro Stock), Billy Decker (Super DIRT Series), Scott Dixon (IndyCar Series), Benny Gordon (Hooters Pro Cup Series), Eric Holmes (NASCAR Camping World West), Jason Johnson (American Sprint Car Series), Jimmy Johnson (NASCAR Sprint Cup), Matt Kobyluck (NASCAR Camping World East), Darrell Lanigan (World of Outlaws Late Model Series), Lucas Luhr and Marco Werner (American Le Mans Series), Raphael Matos (Indy Lights), Earl Pearson, Jr. (Lucas Dirt Series), Cruz Pedregon (NHRA Funny Car), the duo of Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas (Grand Am Rolex Series), Donny Schatz (World of Outlaws), Tony Schumacher (NHRA Top Fuel) and Cole Whitt (USAC Midgets).

The award will be presented by National Speed Sport News Editor Chris Economaki at the 21st Annual PRI Trade Show, December 11th, 2008, at the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Florida.

Lofton, Umphries Finish 41st Annual Tecate SCORE Baja 1000

Justin Lofton, who competed on a full time basis in the 2008 ARCA RE/MAX Series driving for Eddie Sharp Racing, joined forces with his father to race in the 41st Annual Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 November 19-23, 2008. Lofton and his father, Bob Lofton, finished sixth overall in the Pro Cars and Trucks category in a Chevrolet Silverado Trophy Truck among more than 375 entrants from 39 U.S. States and 24 countries. Drivers competed in 28 Pro and 7 Sportsman classes for cars, trucks, motorcycles and ATVs.

Mr. Gasket Racing Services sponsor representative Shawn Umphries, who administrates the Mallory Ignition Program in the ARCA RE/MAX Series, also competed in the event, finishing eighth in his class along with co-drivers George Peters, John Spar and Kevin Walsh.

Meet Your Favorite ARCA RE/MAX Series driver at PRI

Several current and former ARCA RE/MAX Series personalities will participate in a Meet and Greet at the ARCA Booth at the Performance Racing Industry Trade Show at the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Florida, December 11th-13th.

Thursday, December 11th
10-11 a.m. Ryan Fischer (Venturini Motorsports)
1-2:30 p.m. Craig Goess (Eddie Sharp Racing)

Friday, December 12th
10-11 a.m. Tom Hessert, III (Andy Belmont Racing)
1-2:30 p.m. 2008 Cometic Crew Chief of the Year Patrick Donahue and
2007 SunTrust Rookie of the Year Michael McDowell

Satruday, December 13th
1-3 p.m. 2008 ARCA RE/MAX Series Champion Justin Allgaier

ARCA will be located at booth 3419, North of the Service Desk, in the Northern half of the convention hall.

Countdown to Daytona

The ARCA RE/MAX Series will test at Daytona Int'l Speedway in preparation for the 2009 ARCA 200 at Daytona from December 19th-21st. This year's test will consist of both drafting and single car runs and is designed to help race teams and drivers prepare for the 46th annual ARCA 200 at Daytona, which kicks off the 2009 ARCA RE/MAX Series. The ARCA RE/MAX Series has competed at Daytona since 1964 and the 2009 edition of the race rolls off live on SPEED on Saturday, February 7th as a preamble to the same-day NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Budweiser Shootout. Tickets are available.

-credit: arca

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series ARCA
Drivers Jeg Coughlin , Ryan Newman , Scott Dixon , Scott Pruett , Johnny Benson , Andy Belmont , Lucas Luhr , Michael McDowell , Cruz Pedregon , Donny Schatz , Scott Speed , Marco Werner , Matt Kobyluck , Tom Hessert , Clint Bowyer , Eric Holmes , Jerry Coons , Justin Allgaier , Ted Christopher , Justin Lofton , Joey Logano , Cole Whitt , Ryan Fischer , Craig Goess
Teams Team Penske