Series Notebook 2008-06-02

Lucky Number Seven for the ARCA RE/MAX Series; Eight for Eight at Pocono? The 2008 racing season has been a competitive one for the ARCA RE/MAX Series, with seven different winners in as many races this season, including five first-time series...

Lucky Number Seven for the ARCA RE/MAX Series; Eight for Eight at Pocono?

The 2008 racing season has been a competitive one for the ARCA RE/MAX Series, with seven different winners in as many races this season, including five first-time series winners. Four of the top-10 point contenders--Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. (currently leads points), Matt Carter (second), Scott Speed (sixth) and Justin Allgaier (seventh)--have earned ARCA RE/MAX Series race wins this season. Other winners include Michael Annett at Daytona, Matt Hawkins at Iowa and Joey Logano at Rockingham. The series will attempt to continue the streak with an eighth different race winner at Pocono Raceway on Saturday, June 7th. The race marks a return to competition for the diverse stock car tour after two consecutive off weekends and will air same day delayed on SPEED at 10 p.m. Eastern.

Pocono Raceway has been a traditional stop on the ARCA RE/MAX Series schedule since 1983, and in the sanctioning body's 45 previous appearances at the 2.5-mile triangle, several memorable names have found victory lane, including Michael McDowell, Travis Kvapil, Casey Mears, Casey Atwood, Tim Steele, Ryan Newman, Kerry Earnhardt, Mike Wallace and Bob Keselowski. This weekend's entry list is more than 40 cars strong and includes Pennsylvania natives Bobby Gerhart, Chase Mattioli, Steve Fox, Kory Rabenold, Norm Benning and Brian Kaltreider.

ARCA RE/MAX Series Drivers Make Good Use of Weekend off: Scott Speed Wins at Dover

Just days after earning his career first NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series victory at Dover, ARCA RE/MAX Series rookie Scott Speed is preparing for a busy, two-race weekend in which he will compete in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series Sam's Town 400k at Texas Motor Speedway on Friday night and the Pocono 200 ARCA RE/MAX Series race on Saturday afternoon, June 7th. Fellow SunTrust rookie contender Tayler Malsam will also compete in multiple racing events this week; he's schedule to race his USAC Midget on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday before heading to Pocono for Friday's ARCA RE/MAX Series practice/SIM Factory Qualifying session and Saturday's Pocono 200 race.

"I'm not going to become a better driver sitting home, said Malsam. "Every time I get in a race car, means another chance to learn."

Speed and Malsam (who raced a 360 Sprint at Skagit Speedway in Washington on Saturday) are two of several drivers often found at the racetrack even during off weekends from ARCA RE/MAX Series competition. Matt Carter sat on the pole at the Milwaukee Mile for the Sears Auto Center 150 Hooters Pro Cup Race this weekend, setting a new track record at the historic, one-mile oval. He was joined in the race by current ARCA RE/MAX Series full time competitors Tom Hessert III and Bryan Silas.

Patrick Donahue Leads Cometic Crew Chief Standings

Eddie Sharp Racing's Patrick Donahue, crew chief of the No. 2 Red Bull Toyota driven by Scott Speed, currently leads the Cometic Crew Chief standings over Larry Moore (crew chief of the No. 16 Chevrolet driven by Justin Allgaier), Jeff Campey (crew chief of the No. 99 Ford driven by Ricky Stenhouse, Jr.), Ryan Parks (crew chief of the No. 1 Ford driven by Tom Hessert, III) and John Hayden (crew chief of the No. 60 Dodge driven by Patrick Sheltra). ARCA's Cometic Crew Chief of the Year award dates back to 1968 and has been awarded to Iggy Katona, Clifford Allison, Ron Keselowski, Bob Dotter and Tom Sokoloski, among others. Bill Kimmel is the defending Cometic Crew Chief of the year and an eight-time winner of the award.

Donahue is a weekly contributing guest on the Inside ARCA Radio show, which streams live on every Tuesday night from 7-8:30 p.m.

Hoosier Tire Superspeedway Challenge Standings Wide Open

Michael Annett was a promising contender for the 2008 Hoosier Tire Superspeedway Challenge Standings but a ride in Bill Davis Racing's No. 22 NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series Toyota has left ARCA's Hoosier Tire Superspeedway Challenge Point Standings wide open. Annett is not entered for the Pocono 200 and depending on driver performance, a number of ARCA RE/MAX Series regulars--including Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., Patrick Sheltra, Ken Butler, III, Tom Hessert, III and John Wes Townley--have a shot at leading the superspeedway challenge standings at the conclusion of this weekend's ARCA RE/MAX Series event at Pocono Raceway.

The Superspeedway Challenge, which is a separate point fund for races on speedway ovals greater than one mile in length, kicked off with the ARCA 200 at Daytona on February 9th and also included the Kansas Lottery $150 Grand at Kansas Speedway on April 25th and the Drive Smart! Buckle-Up Kentucky 150 on May 10th. Additional superspeedway challenge events on the 2008 schedule include Kentucky Speedway (July 18th), Pocono Raceway (June 7th, August 2nd), Michigan Int'l Speedway (June 13th), Nashville Superspeedway (August 9th), Chicagoland Speedway (September 6th) and Talladega Superspeedway (October 3rd).

Last season, ARCA RE/MAX Series car owner Ray Evernham and driver Erin Crocker earned Hoosier Tire Superspeedway Challenge honors, marking the first time that a female driver has earned the award. Other former recipients of the award include Frank Kimmel, Bobby Gerhart, Chad Blount, Bob Strait, Bill Baird, Mark Gibson, Tim Steele and Mike Wallace, among others.

Roush Fenway's Stenhouse Continues to Lead ARCA RE/MAX Series Point Standings

Currently, six of the top-10 ARCA RE/MAX Series point contenders are SunTrust Rookies, including Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., Matt Carter, Tom Hessert, III, John Wes Townley, Scott Speed and Tayler Malsam. Frank Kimmel, the defending and nine-time ARCA RE/MAX Series champion, heads into the Pocono 200 third in points, just 30 points out of the lead.

Top-10 ARCA RE/MAX Series Point Standings; 1) Ricky Stenhouse Jr, 1560; 2) Matt Carter, 1550; 3) Frank Kimmel, 1530; 4) Tom Hessert, 1475; 5) John Wes Townley, 1470; 6) Scott Speed, 1445; 7) Justin Allgaier, 1440; 8) Patrick Sheltra, 1410; 9) Tayler Malsam, 1305; 10) Ken Butler, 1270.

-credit: arcaracing

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series ARCA
Teams Bill Davis Racing