Michigan: Event fact sheet

RACE: FLAGSTAR 200, 6-15-02 TRACK: Michigan Int'l Speedway, 2-mile paved oval LOCATION: Brooklyn, Michigan DISTANCE: 100 laps, 200 miles SANCTION: ARCA SERIES: Event ...

RACE: FLAGSTAR 200, 6-15-02
TRACK: Michigan Int'l Speedway, 2-mile paved oval
LOCATION: Brooklyn, Michigan
DISTANCE: 100 laps, 200 miles
SERIES: Event #9 of the 2002 ARCA RE/MAX Series
PROMOTER: International Speedway Corp (ISC)
Thursday, June 13:
Practice 2:30 PM -- 4 PM

Friday, June 14:
Old Milwaukee Pole Qualifying 1:30 PM
final practice following Cup qualifying

Sat, June 15:
FLAGSTAR 200 at 1:30 PM

POSTED AWARDS: $197,483 in prize, point and contingency money.

ARCA OFFICIAL COMPANIES: RE/MAX International Inc, Damon RV, Featherlite Trailers, Hoosier Racing Tires, Racing Electronics, 76 Racing Gas.

ARCA OFFICIAL PRODUCTS: Amkus Rescue Tools, Carolina Motorsports, Earl's Performance Products, Fast Track High Performance Driving School, Flowmaster Mufflers, Harris Torches & Regulators, Holley HP Carbs, K&N Air Filters, K&N Oil Filters, Kluhsman Racing Products, Landrum Spring Service, Lincoln Electric Welders, Magnum Police Equipment, Motive Gear, National Pork Board, Old Milwaukee Beer, QuicShine 99, RJS Uniforms, S-W Scales by Intercomp, Who's Your Daddy?/Big Daddy's Company.

PARTICIPATING COMPANIES: ATI Dampers, Auto Meter Instruments, Berryman Products, Bilstein Shocks, Blake Carburetors, BSR Racing Products, Clevite Engine Parts, CV Products, Dayco Belts & Hoses, Dr. Gas Exhaust Components, Edelbrock, EMCO Transmissions, Ford Motor Co., Gatorade, G-Force Racing Gear, Hedman Hedders, Hoosier Performance Tire, Hurd Air Wrenches, Hutcherson-Pagan, Jacobs Electronics, JE Pistons, Joyce Julius & Associates, JR's Garage, Leading Edge Race Cars, Loctite Corporation, Lowe Lug Nuts, MSD Ignition, Mechanix Wear, Nelson Specialties, Ohlins Shocks, Penske Racing Shocks, Perfect Circle Piston Rings, Pro Shocks, Quarter Master, Reed Cams, Rhyne Racing Engines, RJS Racing Equipment, 76 Performance Products, Simpson Race Products, Thermo-Tec Header Wrap, Tilton Engineering, Victor-Reinz Gaskets, Wallace Race Car Lettering, Wilson Manifolds.

RECORDS: Qualifying -- Jason Jarrett, 2001, 38.919 (185.000 mph) Race -- Ron Barfield, 1996, 1:24:14 (142.461 mph)

TELEVISION: Same-day on Speed Channel from 8 PM -- 10 PM. Re-airs June 17 at 1 PM. All times Eastern.

NOTES OF INTEREST: First and foremost, 2002 marks the 50th anniversary season for the world's most versatile stock car tour well-known as the ARCA RE/MAX Series. The FLAGSTAR 200 will be the 19th ARCA RE/MAX Series race held at MIS since the series first raced there in 1980. Considering the ARCA RE/MAX Series was born in Toledo OH in 1953, MIS, located less than an hour from the ARCA home office, is considered by many as ARCA's hometown superspeedway. All-time winners at MIS include Jeff Purvis ('93, '94 & '95) and 3-time RE/MAX Series champion Tim Steele ('96, '97 & '00). Additional winners include Joe Ruttman (1980), Billie Harvey (1980), Tracy Leslie (1990), Dave Mader (1991), Stanley Smith (1991), Bob Keselowski (1992), Ron Barfield (1996), Mark Thompson (1997), Frank Kimmel (1998), David Keith (1999), Kerry Earnhardt (2001) and Blaise Alexander (2001). Alexander joins Keith and Ruttman as the only drivers who have won from the pole at MIS. This year's entry list is mixed with a wide array of talent from former series champions Frank Kimmel and Tim Steele to a healthy crop of talented rookies including leading Rookie of the Year contender Chad Blount, 18-year-old Chase Montgomery and 16-year-old Shelby Howard all of whom are in the top-10 points. Additional entrants include Daytona/Talladega winner Bobby Gerhart, 1-lap MIS track record holder Jason Jarrett, Dutch-born driver Michael Vergers and former NFL head coach Jerry Glanville. Kimmel has won 4 of the last 6 races and leads the points with 510 laps-led in 7 races. Kennewick, Wash. driver Damon Lusk, coming off a win at Pocono last week, is second in points headed to MIS.

CURRENT POINTS: 1) Frank Kimmel 2010; 2) Damon Lusk 1930; 3) Chad Blount 1865; 4) Jason Jarrett 1605; 5) Andy Belmont 1590; 6) Chase Montgomery 1540; 7) Mark Gibson 1520; 8) Shelby Howard 1505; 9) Billy Venturini 1420; 10) Norm Benning 1340.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series ARCA
Drivers Frank Kimmel , Andy Belmont , Chad Blount , Chase Montgomery , Jeff Purvis , Joe Ruttman , Kerry Earnhardt , Bobby Gerhart , Jason Jarrett , Shelby Howard , Tim Steele , Damon Lusk , Mark Gibson , Norm Benning , Ron Barfield , Mark Thompson
Teams Team Penske , CIP