LaSalle truck results

LaSalle, IL, 8-5-00 – Troy Marciniak, in his own A&A Manufacturing Chevy S-10, held off defending race winner Tully Esterline to win the 100-lap ARCA Lincoln Welders Truck Series main event on the LaSalle Speedway quarter-mile clay Saturday...

LaSalle, IL, 8-5-00 – Troy Marciniak, in his own A&A Manufacturing Chevy S-10, held off defending race winner Tully Esterline to win the 100-lap ARCA Lincoln Welders Truck Series main event on the LaSalle Speedway quarter-mile clay Saturday night in LaSalle, Illinois.

Marciniak, who had his hands full with Esterline in the end, eventually stretched his lead to three lengths at the final stripe to become the first four-time winner this year on the ARCA Truck tour. Esterline, in the Spangler Candy Company Chevy, finished a commanding second with Chad Guinn’s Sonic Expediting Ford Ranger trailing in third. Defending ARCA Truck champion Bill Withers, in the Mannings USA-Hall Electronics Ford, raced home in fourth ahead of Hoosier Tire Pole Award winner Bobby Marvin in the Ed & Company-Stat Express Delivery Ford in fifth.

While the victory lane spoils were all Marciniaks, it was Esterline who may have given the fans the most to cheer about. Esterline, with a poorly handling truck, was inches away from being lapped by Marciniak when the ARCA-mandated halfway caution flag appeared giving the Spangler Candy crew the opportunity to make badly needed adjustments. When racing resumed, Esterline, at the tail-end of the lead-lap line, and with the handling much more to his liking, charged ahead to challenge. Within 15 laps, Esterline was again within inches of Marciniak but this time, it was a battle for the lead. However outside pole starter Marciniak, who would lead all 100 laps, wasn’t about to give up the top spot he had worked so diligently to maintain. Fighting hard to keep his lead, Marciniak, better on longer runs, eventually stretched his advantage enough to secure the victory.

Todd Braun was a threat to overhaul the eventual winner and was running second until the Winamac, Indiana driver hooked the turn four cushion and hit the wall ending his day 29 laps from the finish. Johnny Witham, Robbin Slaughter, Michael Carter, Jack Weethee, and Stan Maitlen finished sixth through 10th respectively.

Marciniak was awarded the Cloyes Gear Halfway Leader honors while Esterline picked up the Ed & Company Hard Charger Award for advancing the most positions, from 13th to second. Esterline also won the Hawk Best Brake of the Race Award.

The ARCA Lincoln Welders Truck Series will next appear at Berlin Raceway in Marne, Michigan on August 12 followed by a double-header weekend with Winchester Speedway in Winchester, Indiana kicking things off on August 18 followed up by a visit to Shady Bowl Speedway in DeGraff, Ohio on August 19.

<pre> 2000 ARCA LINCOLN WELDERS TRUCK SERIES EVENT #10 LaSalle Speedway, LaSalle IL, 8-5-00 Official Results


1 2 8 Troy Marciniak/Spring Lake MI Marciniak Motorsports-A&A Manufacturing Chevrolet 100 Running 2 13 10 Tully Esterline/Pettisville OH Spangler Candy Company Chevrolet 100 Running 3 9 4 Chad Guinn/Erie MI Sonic Expediting Ford 100 Running 4 7 57 Bill Withers/Columbus OH Mannings USA-Hall Electronics Ford 100 Running 5 1 76 Bobby Marvin/Columbus OH Ed & Company-Stat Express Delivery Ford 100 Running 6 3 5 Johnny Witham/Hamilton OH Pate Manufacturing-Fab Shop Ford 98 Running 7 16 6 Robbin Slaughter/Columbus OH Carmen's Vacuum-Napa Auto Parts Ford 96 Running 8 14 44 Michael Carter Jr/Highland MI Carter Racing Chevrolet 89 Running 9 4 55 Jack Weethee/Grove City OH Weethee Builders-Amerihost Inns Ford 85 Running 10 11 9 Stan Maitlen/Greenville OH ARC Abrasives-GSI-Scoreboards-Meredith Ford 81 Running 11 6 77 Todd Braun/Winamac IN Braun Auto Group-Two Guy Mechanical Ford 71 Accident 12 12 98 Dave Reeb/Pataskala OH Accurate Logistics Ford 33 Overhtng 13 10 24 Paul Hahn/Canton MI Hahn's Collision-Eversole & Assoc-Fox Auto Ford 23 Engine 14 15 17 Randy Kopka/Winamac IN Braun Ford 20 Transmssn 15 5 2 Jeff Speakman/Piqua OH Pennzoil-Nat'l Auto Lube Ford 19 Overhtng 16 8 15 Darren Jones/Indian Springs OH Pusch's Restaurant Ford 13 Overhtng

HOOSIER TIRE POLE AWARD: Bobby Marvin 18.160 seconds LAP LEADERS: Marciniak 1-100 (100)

SPECIAL AWARDS Revenge Pole-Win Award: None Cloyes Gear Halfway Leader Award: Troy Marciniak Hawk Best Brake of the Race Award: Tully Esterline Ed & Company Hard Charger Award: Tully Esterline RJS Safety Belt Award: Tully Esterline Brooks Racing Tire & Wheel Award: Chad Guinn, Randy Kopka Diamond Wheels Award: Darren Jones King Wheels Award: Paul Hahn

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series ARCA
Drivers Michael Carter