Kentucky: Event factsheet

RACE: WLWT Channel 5-155, 5-11-02 TRACK: Kentucky Speedway, 1.5-mile paved oval LOCATION: Sparta, KY DISTANCE: 104 laps, 155 miles SANCTION: ARCA SERIES: Event ...

RACE: WLWT Channel 5-155, 5-11-02
TRACK: Kentucky Speedway, 1.5-mile paved oval
DISTANCE: 104 laps, 155 miles
SERIES: Event #5 of the 2002 ARCA RE/MAX Series
PROMOTER: Kentucky Speedway (859) 647-4309

SCHEDULE: Fri, May 10:
Practice 11 AM -- 1 PM & 6:45 PM -- 7:45 PM
Old Milwaukee Pole Qualifying 2:30 PM

Sat, May 11:
WLWT Channel 5-155 at 8 PM eastern

POSTED AWARDS: $179,033 in prize, point and contingency money.

ARCA OFFICIAL COMPANIES: RE/MAX International Inc, Damon RV, Featherlite Trailers, Hoosier Racing Tires, Racing Electronics, 76 Racing Gas.

ARCA OFFICIAL PRODUCTS: Amkus Rescue Tools, Carolina Motorsports, Earl's Performance Products, Fast Track High Performance Driving School, Flowmaster Mufflers, Harris Torches & Regulators, Holley HP Carbs, K&N Air Filters, K&N Oil Filters, Kluhsman Racing Products, Landrum Spring Service, Lincoln Electric Welders, Magnum Police Equipment, Motive Gear, National Pork Board, Old Milwaukee Beer, QuicShine 99, RJS Uniforms, S-W Scales by Intercomp, Who's Your Daddy?/Big Daddy's Company.

PARTICIPATING COMPANIES: ATI Dampers, Auto Meter Instruments, Berryman Products, Bilstein Shocks, Blake Carburetors, BSR Racing Products, Clevite Engine Parts, CV Products, Dayco Belts & Hoses, Dr. Gas Exhaust Components, Edelbrock, EMCO Transmissions, Ford Motor Co., Gatorade, Hedman Hedders, Hoosier Performance Tire, Hurd Air Wrenches, Hutcherson-Pagan, Jacobs Electronics, JE Pistons, Joyce Julius & Associates, Leading Edge Race Cars, Loctite Corporation, Lowe Lug Nuts, MSD Ignition, Mechanix Wear, Nelson Specialties, Ohlins Shocks, Penske Racing Shocks, Perfect Circle Piston Rings, Pro Shocks, Quarter Master, Reed Cams, Rhyne Racing Engines, RJS Racing Equipment, 76 Performance Products, Simpson Race Products, Thermo-Tec Header Wrap, Tilton Engineering, Victor-Reinz Gaskets, Wallace Race Car Lettering, Wilson Manifolds.

Qualifying -- David Keith, 30.811 (175.262 mph) 2000.
Race -- Frank Kimmel (120.060 mph) 2001.

Speed Channel, LIVE from 8 PM -- 10 PM.
Also LIVE on WLWT Channel 5 NBC Cincinnati.
All times Eastern.

NOTES OF INTEREST: The WLWT Channel 5-155 will be the 5th appearance of the ARCA RE/MAX Series at Kentucky Speedway since Tim Steele won the inaugural event in 2000. ARCA RE/MAX race winners at Kentucky also include Ryan Newman, David Keith and Frank Kimmel who won both Kentucky Speedway events in 2001. Kennewick WA native Damon Lusk is the current point leader heading to KY with 830 points followed by 3-time champ Frank Kimmel with 795 and rookie sensation Chad Blount in third with 770. Blount is one of 3 ARCA RE/MAX Series rookies currently in the top-10 points. 16-year-old rookie Shelby Howard is 6th while 18-year-old Chase Montgomery is 10th. Montgomery, of Mt. Juliet TN, posted his career-best finish of 5th at Kentucky last year and also started outside pole there. Jason Rudd, nephew of Winston Cup regular Ricky Rudd, is scheduled to make his first Kentucky appearance. Other notable entrants include 2001 ARCA Rookie of the Year Jason Jarrett, who recently moved to 4th in points after a solid second at Salem, 3-time champ and all-time superspeedway winner (24) Tim Steele, former NFL head coach Jerry Glanville as well as series regulars Andy Belmont, Todd Bowsher (son of 3-time champ Jack Bowsher), Ron Cox, Chuck Weber, Brad Smith, Billy Venturini (son of 2-time champ Bill Venturini), Mike Buckley, Kevin Belmont, Robert Burroughs, Eric Martin and Mark Gibson. In addition, Dutch-born driver (with current residence in Oxford UK) Michael Vergers is schedule to make his first Kentucky appearance. Local drivers entered include teammates Jeep Pflum and Mike Burg of Cincinnati as well as Willie Green of Walton KY. Green posted his career-best finish of 5th at KY in 2001. Kimmel, coming off his 35th career ARCA RE/MAX Series win at Salem, could also be considered a local favorite from nearby Jeffersonville IN. In addition, Louisville KY driver Frank Kapfhammer is entered as is Hamilton OH driver Neil McClelland, Benton KY's Dennis English and Owensboro KY driver John Hayden.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series ARCA
Drivers Ryan Newman , Mike Buckley , Frank Kimmel , Andy Belmont , Chad Blount , Robert Burroughs , Michael Vergers , Chase Montgomery , Chuck Weber , Kevin Belmont , Jason Jarrett , Shelby Howard , Tim Steele , Billy Venturini , Damon Lusk , Ron Cox , Mark Gibson , Todd Bowsher , John Hayden , Willie Green , Jason Rudd
Teams CIP