Kansas Speedway preview

KANSAS FACTSHEET RACE: BPU 200, 6-2-01 TRACK: Kansas Speedway, 1.5-mile paved oval LOCATION: Kansas City, Kansas DISTANCE: 134 laps, 200 miles SANCTION: ARCA SERIES: Event ...


RACE: BPU 200, 6-2-01
TRACK: Kansas Speedway, 1.5-mile paved oval
LOCATION: Kansas City, Kansas
DISTANCE: 134 laps, 200 miles
SERIES: Event #8 of the 2001 ARCA RE/MAX Series
PROMOTER: International Speedway Corp (ISC) <pre> SCHEDULE: Thurs, May 31: Practice 11 AM - 1 PM and from 2 PM -- 4 PM Fri, June 1: Old Milwaukee Pole Award Qualifying 2:30 PM (1-34) 2 laps Sat, June 2: BPU 200 at 2 PM

POSTED AWARDS: $219,125 in prize, point and contingency money. </pre> ARCA OFFICIAL COMPANIES: RE/MAX International Inc, Damon RV, Featherlite Trailers, Hoosier Racing Tires, Racing Electronics, 76 Racing Gas.

ARCA OFFICIAL PRODUCTS: Amerex Fire Suppression Systems, Amkus Rescue Tools, Auto Value Parts Stores, Cloyes Gear & Products, Cornwell Quality Tools, Earl's Performance Products, Fastlane Footwear, Fast Track High Performance Driving School, Flowmaster Mufflers, Harris Torches & Regulators, Hawk Brake, Holley HP Carbs, K&N Filters, K&N Oil Filters, Landrum Spring Service, Lincoln Electric Welders, Magnum Police Equipment, Motive Gear, National Pork Producers Council, Old Milwaukee Beer, QuicShine 99, RJS Uniforms, S-W Scales by Intercomp.

PARTICIPATING COMPANIES: ATI Dampers, Auto Meter Instruments, Bilstein Shocks, BSR Racing Products, Carrera Shocks, Clevite Engine Parts, CV Products, Dayco Belts & Hoses, Edelbrock, Ford Motor Co., Gatorade, Hedman Hedders, Hoosier Performance Tire, Hutcherson-Pagan, Jacobs Electronics, JE Pistons, Leading Edge Race Cars, Loctite Corporation, Lowe Lug Nuts, Maurtco Powder Coating, MSD Ignition, Nelson Specialties, Oceans Resorts, Ohlins Shocks, Penske Racing Shocks, Pro Cylinder Heads, Pro Shocks, Quarter Master, Racecollectables.com, Raceline Precision Products, Reed Cams & Carburetors, Rhyne Racing Engines, Ringers Resources, RJS Racing Equipment, 76 Performance Products, Simpson Race Products, Thermo-Tec Header Wrap, Tilton Engineering, Victor-Reinz Gaskets, Wallace Race Car Lettering.

RECORDS: None yet established. <pre> TELEVISION: Speedvision June 22 at 9 PM June 23 at 1 AM June 25 at 12 noon. All times Eastern. </pre> NOTES OF INTEREST: The BPU 200, in conjunction with the NASCAR Winston West Series, will be the inaugural event at the new 1.5-mile Kansas Speedway. Defending ARCA RE/MAX Series champion and current point leader Frank Kimmel has won the last four in a row at Salem, Gateway, Kentucky and Lowe's however stiff opposition is on the way at Kansas with the entry of Penske-powerhouse driver Ryan Newman. Newman, in only 6 RE/MAX Series starts, has 4 top-5 finishes and 5 top-10s including victories at Pocono, Kentucky, Lowe's and this year's Daytona ARCA 200. Kansas Speedway put up an additional $15,000 bonus for any driver who wins the Winston West race as well as the BPU 200 RE/MAX Series race. 3-time RE/MAX Series champ Tim Steele is still squarely in the points hunt 165 markers away from Kimmel while leading ARCA Rookie contender Jason Jarrett is locked in a tight battle for third with veteran Andy Belmont who trails Jarrett by a mere 5 markers. '99 ARCA Rookie of the Year Ron Cox completes the top-5 in points. While Kimmel continues the capture a majority of the headlines, Steele is still the man in the ARCA superspeedway world. The Coopersville, MI native leads the way in all superspeedway categories including all-time superspeedway winner (22); all-time superspeedway pole winner (16); all-time superspeedway lap-leader (2,235 laps in 45 races). <pre> Current Points: 1. Frank Kimmel 1940 2. Tim Steele 1775 3. Jason Jarrett 1480 4. Andy Belmont 1475 5. Ron Cox 1360 6. Billy Venturini 1260 7. Chuck Weber 1245 8. Norm Benning 1160 Joe Cooksey 1160 10. Todd Bowsher 1145.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series ARCA
Drivers Ryan Newman , Frank Kimmel , Andy Belmont , Chuck Weber , Jason Jarrett , Tim Steele , Billy Venturini , Ron Cox , Todd Bowsher , Norm Benning
Teams Team Penske , CIP