Guinn wins Winchester thriller

Winchester IN, 8-18-00 – In 100 laps at Winchester, the lead changed hands 15 times among five drivers. Fortunately for Erie, Michigan’s Chad Guinn, the last time it changed with 3 laps remaining, his number four was atop the electronic...

Winchester IN, 8-18-00 – In 100 laps at Winchester, the lead changed hands 15 times among five drivers.

Fortunately for Erie, Michigan’s Chad Guinn, the last time it changed with 3 laps remaining, his number four was atop the electronic leader board. Guinn, who led on 5 different occasions, raced by Pete Wormcastle on the 96th circuit and barely held off the hungry pack to score his fourth career ARCA Lincoln Welders Truck Series victory Friday night at Winchester Speedway, and quite possibly, the most hard-fought of the bunch.

And while the fans were treated to some of the most exciting racing ever witnessed at Winchester, the frontrunners mixed it up one more time on the last lap when Wormcastle and Michael Carter, racing for the lead, got crossed up in oil put down by Tully Esterline whose engine had just expired. Both machines made heavy contact with the outside retaining wall in turn four after completing 99 laps setting up the one-lap dash to the checkers where Guinn, in his Sonic Expediting Ford Ranger, fought off defending champion Bill Withers by inches for the win. Runner-up finisher Withers started 19th. Bobby Marvin, in his own Ed & Company-Stat Express delivery Ford, finished inches back in third ahead of current point leader Robbin Slaughter in the Carmen’s Vacuum-NAPA Ford in fourth. Dave Reeb, in the Accurate Logistics Ford, completed the top-five ahead of Todd Braun in sixth and Johnny Witham the last truck on the lead lap in seventh. Wormcastle and Carter, both having completed 99 laps, were credited with eighth and ninth respectively while Scott Belknap completed the top-10.

Jeff Speakman, after winning the Hoosier Tire Pole Award, led at the onset with David Clay giving chase until Clay out-maneuvered the former leader to take control on the 21st lap. Clay held on for five laps before Speakman took over again on the 26th circuit. Speakman’s lead was short-lived however when Clay took it back on the next lap to lead three laps before Witham wrestled the top-spot away from Clay. Witham would go on to lead up through lap 71 while the nine additional trucks on the lead lap giving chase swapped back in forth for position so many times it would be impossible to describe. Witham, who never did shake his pursuers, lost the lead the Guinn who led the 72nd lap before Witham took the lead back the next lap. Witham added three more laps led to his tally before Wormcastle raced his way into lead. But Wormcastle’s lead didn’t last long either when Guinn took it back a lap later. Like Wormcastle’s short-lived lead, so was Guinn’s who handed it back to Wormcastle the next lap. Wormcastle led through lap 84 before Guinn raced by again to lead lap 85. Wormcastle wrestled in it back to lead lap 86 in time for Guinn to charge back and lead lap 87. Wormcastle then moved ahead on lap 88 and held on until the 96th circuit before Guinn took control for good. Clay and Speakman were part of the lead mix up through lap 30 before being involved in an accident which eliminated both trucks.

Withers won the Ed & Company Hard Charger Award for advancing the most positions while Witham picked up the Cloyes Gear Halfway Leader Award.

<pre> 2000 ARCA LINCOLN WELDERS TRUCK SERIES EVENT #12 Winchester Speedway, Winchester IN, 8-18-00 Official Results


1 4 4 Chad Guinn/Erie MI Sonic Expediting Ford 100 2 19 57 Bill Withers/Columbus OH Mannings USA-Hall Electronics Ford 100 3 12 76 Bobby Marvin/Columbus OH Ed & Company-Stat Express Delivery Ford 100 4 6 6 Robbin Slaughter/Columbus OH Carmen's Vacuum-Napa Auto Parts Ford 100 5 13 98 Dave Reeb/Pataskala OH Accurate Logistics Ford 100 6 15 77 Todd Braun/Winamac IN Braun Auto Group-Two Guy Mechanical Ford 100 7 3 5 Johnny Witham/Hamilton OH Pate Manufacturing-Fab Shop Ford 100 8 9 12 Pete Wormcastle/New Haven IN Witwer Racing-Kelly Automotive Chevrolet 99 9 7 44 Michael Carter Jr/Highland MI Carter Racing Chevrolet 99 10 14 21 Scott Belknap/Toledo OH Mississippi BBQ Sauce Chevrolet 99 11 10 18 Kyle Witwer/Fort Wayne IN Kelley Automotive Group-Witwer Racing Chevrolet 99 12 8 55 Jack Weethee/Grove City OH Weethee Builders-Amerihost Inns Ford 75 13 18 16 Joseph Wormcastle/Fort Wayne IN Witwer Racing-Votaw Electric Chevrolet 73 14 17 9 Stan Maitlen/Greenville OH ARC Abrasives-GSI-Scoreboards-Meredith Ford 32 15 2 33 David Clay/Carlisle OH Carlisle Electric-Community National Bank Chevrolet 30 16 1 2 Jeff Speakman/Piqua OH Pennzoil-Nat'l Auto Lube Ford 30 17 11 10 Tully Esterline/Pettisville OH Spangler Candy Company Chevrolet 29 18 5 8 Troy Marciniak/Spring Lake MI Marciniak Motorsports-A&A Manufacturing Chevrolet 18 19 16 19 Jeff Wichmann/Mason OH Midwest Metals & Supply Ford 17 20 20 51 Kendra Lake/Toledo OH AJ Pate Ford 1

HOOSIER TIRE POLE AWARD: Jeff Speakman 17.537 seconds LAP LEADERS: Speakman 1-20, 26 (21); Clay 21-25, 27-30 (9); Witham 31-71, 73-75 (44); Wormcastle 76, 78-84, 86, 88-96 (18); Guinn 72, 77, 85, 87, 97-100 (8)

SPECIAL AWARDS Revenge Pole-Win Award: None Cloyes Gear Halfway Leader Award: Johnny Witham Hawk Best Brake of the Race Award: Bobby Marvin Ed & Company Hard Charger Award: Bill Withers RJS Safety Belt Award: Todd Braun Brooks Racing Tire & Wheel Award: Stan Maitlen, Bill Withers Diamond Wheels Award: Jack Weethee King Wheels Award: Todd Braun

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series ARCA
Drivers Michael Carter