DuQuoin fact sheet

<pre> DUQUOIN FACTSHEET PLUS RACE: Southern Illinois 100 by Federated Auto Parts, Monday Sept 3 TRACK: DuQuoin State Fairgrounds, 1-mile clay oval LOCATION: DuQuoin, Illinois DISTANCE: 100 Miles (100 laps) SANCTION: ARCA SERIES:...


RACE: Southern Illinois 100 by Federated Auto Parts, Monday Sept 3 TRACK: DuQuoin State Fairgrounds, 1-mile clay oval LOCATION: DuQuoin, Illinois DISTANCE: 100 Miles (100 laps) SANCTION: ARCA SERIES: Event #19 of the 2001 ARCA RE/MAX Series PROMOTER: Trackside Enterprises Inc, Bob Sargent (217) 764-3200 SCHEDULE: Mon, Sept 3: Practice 9 AM -- 10 AM; Old Milwaukee Pole Qualifying 11 AM; Race at 1 PM POSTED AWARDS: $110,673 in prize, point and contingency money

ARCA OFFICIAL COMPANIES: RE/MAX International Inc, Damon RV, Featherlite Trailers, Hoosier Racing Tires, Racing Electronics, 76 Racing Gas.

ARCA OFFICIAL PRODUCTS: Amerex Fire Suppression Systems, Amkus Rescue Tools, Auto Value Parts Stores, Cloyes Gear & Products, Cornwell Quality Tools, Earl's Performance Products, Fastlane Footwear, Fast Track High Performance Driving School, Flowmaster Mufflers, Harris Torches & Regulators, Hawk Brake, Holley HP Carbs, K&N Filters, K&N Oil Filters, Landrum Spring Service, Lincoln Electric Welders, Magnum Police Equipment, Motive Gear, National Pork Producers Council, Old Milwaukee Beer, QuicShine 99, RJS Uniforms, S-W Scales by Intercomp.

PARTICIPATING COMPANIES: ATI Dampers, Auto Meter Instruments, Bilstein Shocks, BSR Racing Products, Carrera Shocks, Clevite Engine Parts, CV Products, Dayco Belts & Hoses, Edelbrock, Ford Motor Co., Gatorade, Hedman Hedders, Hoosier Performance Tire, Hutcherson-Pagan, Jacobs Electronics, JE Pistons, Leading Edge Race Cars, Loctite Corporation, Lowe Lug Nuts, Maurtco Powder Coating, MSD Ignition, Nelson Specialties, Oceans Resorts, Ohlins Shocks, Penske Racing Shocks, Pro Cylinder Heads, Pro Shocks, Quarter Master, Racecollectables.com, Raceline Precision Products, Reed Cams & Carburetors, Rhyne Racing Engines, Ringers Resources, RJS Racing Equipment, 76 Performance Products, Simpson Race Products, Thermo-Tec Header Wrap, Tilton Engineering, Victor-Reinz Gaskets, Wallace Race Car Lettering.

TELEVISION: Speedvision -- Airs Sept 15 at 9 PM; Sept 16 at 2 PM; Sept 17 at 12 noon. All times Eastern. RECORDS: Qualifying: Ben Hess, 1992, 34.752 seconds (103.591 mph) Race: Dean Roper, 1983, 90.101 mph

NOTES OF INTEREST: Fresh from the 1.5-mile Chicagoland Speedway Saturday afternoon, the ultra-diverse ARCA RE/MAX Series, less than 2 days later, will race on the DuQuoin dirt-mile Monday afternoon Labor Day. This year's Southern Illinois 100 by Federated Auto Parts will be the 50th ARCA RE/MAX Series event held on a clay oval since 1974, and 19th ARCA event on the DuQuoin mile since the series first raced there in 1983. Past ARCA RE/MAX winners at DuQuoin include Dean Roper & Billy Thomas each with 4, Bob Hill & Bob Keselowski each with 2, tied with 1 each -- Bob Brevak, Jeff Finley, David Goldsberry, Lee Raymond, Bob Schacht and Bob Strait. The Southern Illinois 100 will be held in honor of the all-time ARCA dirt winner Dean Roper who passed away on August 19, 2001. Roper won 9 races on dirt at DuQuoin, Springfield and Terre Haute. Only 1 ARCA RE/MAX race at DuQuoin has been won from the pole (Bob Hill in '96). At present, the entry list for this year's DuQuoin dirt classic has a touch of NASCAR flavor as Winston Cup players Ken Schrader, Andy Petree and Tony Stewart have filed entries for the event. Former champions entered include Frank Kimmel, Tracy Leslie and Bill Baird. Baird returns to ARCA competition for the first time since the '00 DuQuoin race when the Sturgis KY veteran finished 2nd. Third-generation driver Jason Jarrett will make his first DuQuoin appearance. Jarrett, in his career-first dirt track start at Springfield on Aug 19 of this year, qualified outside pole and finished a respectable 3rd to series veteran Frank Kimmel and Bob Strait. Strait and Phenix City, AL driver Billy Thomas are the only former winners entered. Local favorite Joe Cooksey from nearby Centralia IL has filed an entry. Cooksey is the defending Old Milwaukee Pole Award winner while Thomas is the defending race winner.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series ARCA
Drivers Tony Stewart , Frank Kimmel , Jason Jarrett , Andy Petree
Teams Team Penske , CIP