DuQuoin: Event fact sheet

DUQUOIN FACTSHEET PLUS RACE: Federated Auto Parts 100, Monday September 2 TRACK: DuQuoin State Fairgrounds, 1-mile dirt LOCATION: DuQuoin, Illinois DISTANCE: 100 Miles (100 laps) SANCTION: ARCA SERIES: Event ...


RACE: Federated Auto Parts 100, Monday September 2
TRACK: DuQuoin State Fairgrounds, 1-mile dirt
LOCATION: DuQuoin, Illinois
DISTANCE: 100 Miles (100 laps)
SERIES: Event #18 of the 2002 ARCA RE/MAX Series
Mon, Sept 2:
Practice 8 AM -- 9 AM
Old Milwaukee Pole Award Qualifying 10 AM
Start of Federated Auto Parts 100 at 12 noon.
All times local.

POSTED AWARDS: $125,642 in prize, point and contingency money

ARCA OFFICIAL COMPANIES: RE/MAX International Inc, Damon RV, Featherlite Trailers, Hoosier Racing Tires, Racing Electronics, 76 Racing Gas.

ARCA OFFICIAL PRODUCTS: Amkus Rescue Tools, Carolina Motorsports, Earl's Performance Products, Fast Track High Performance Driving School, Flowmaster Mufflers, Harris Torches & Regulators, Holley HP Carbs, K&N Air Filters, K&N Oil Filters, Kluhsman Racing Products, Landrum Spring Service, Lincoln Electric Welders, Magnum Police Equipment, Motive Gear, National Pork Board, Old Milwaukee Beer, QuicShine 99, RJS Uniforms, S-W Scales by Intercomp.

PARTICIPATING COMPANIES: ATI Dampers, Auto Meter Instruments, Berryman Products, Bilstein Shocks, Blake Carburetors, BSR Racing Products, Clevite Engine Parts, CV Products, Dayco Belts & Hoses, Dr. Gas Exhaust Components, Edelbrock, Ford Motor Co., Gatorade, G-Force Racing Gear, Hedman Hedders, Hoosier Performance Tire, Hurd Air Wrenches, Hutcherson-Pagan, Jacobs Electronics, JE Pistons, Joyce Julius & Associates, JR's Garage, Leading Edge Race Cars, Loctite Corporation, Lowe Lug Nuts, MSD Ignition, Mechanix Wear, Nelson Specialties, Ohlins Shocks, Penske Racing Shocks, Perfect Circle Piston Rings, Pro Shocks, Quarter Master, Reed Cams, Rhyne Racing Engines, RJS Racing Equipment, 76 Performance Products, Simpson Race Products, Thermo-Tec Header Wrap, Tilton Engineering, Victor-Reinz Gaskets, Wallace Race Car Lettering, Wilson Manifolds.

Qualifying -- Tony Stewart, 2001, 34.516 seconds (104.299 mph)
Race -- Dean Roper, 1983, 90.101 mph

TV: LIVE on SPEED Channel from 1 PM - 3 PM eastern time.

NOTES OF INTEREST: Fresh from a short-track war at Winchester on Saturday night, the ARCA RE/MAX Series, less than 2 days later, will line up on the DuQuoin State Fairgrounds mile-dirt for the Federated Auto Parts 100 Monday afternoon, Labor Day. The event marks the 52nd ARCA RE/MAX Series event held on a clay oval since 1974 and 20th at DuQuoin since the series first raced there in 1983. Past ARCA RE/MAX winners at DuQuoin include Dean Roper & Billy Thomas each with 4, Bob Hill & Bob Keselowski each with 2, tied with 1 each -- Bob Brevak, Jeff Finley, David Goldsberry, Frank Kimmel, Lee Raymond, Bob Schacht and Bob Strait. The Old Milwaukee Pole Award at DuQuoin will be named in memory of Dean Roper, the all-time ARCA dirt winner since '74 with 9 victories at DuQuoin, Springfield and Terre Haute. Only 1 ARCA RE/MAX race at DuQuoin has been won from the pole (Bob Hill in '96). At present, the entry list for this year's DuQuoin dirt classic has a touch of NASCAR flavor as Winston Cup players Ken Schrader and Andy Petree have filed entries for the event. 3 of Schrader's 9 career RE/MAX Series victories have come on dirt (Hagerstown half-mile, Indianapolis mile & Springfield mile) however Schrader has never won at DuQuoin. Additional Winston Cup participants are certainly possible. Former champions entered include Frank Kimmel (98, 00, 01) and Bill Baird (99). Defending race winner Kimmel has won 4 of the last 5 dirt-track events. Kimmel, Mokena IL veteran Bob Strait and Phenix City, AL driver Billy Thomas are the only former DuQuoin winners entered. Of the past winners, Thomas leads the way with 4 DuQuoin wins, his most recent in 2000. Local favorite Joe Cooksey from nearby Centralia IL has filed an entry. Cooksey won the Old Milwaukee Pole Award at DuQuoin in 2000. St. Joseph MO driver Doug Keller, coming off a career-best 2nd place finish at Springfield, qualified outside pole alongside Tony Stewart in last year's DuQuoin classic. 16-year old Justin Allgaier, 1 of 8 Illinois drivers entered, will make his 2nd career RE/MAX Series attempt at DuQuoin. The Springfield IL driver finished 17th at Springfield a few weeks ago after starting 29th. Additional Illinois drivers entered include 16-time winner Bob Strait (Mokena), 2-time winner Eric Smith (Bloomington), Todd Coon (E. Peoria), Cooksey (Centralia), Chris Geier (Barrington Hills), Charlie Schaefer (Carlyle) and DuQuoin native Brian Winters.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series ARCA
Drivers Tony Stewart , Ken Schrader , Frank Kimmel , Andy Petree , Justin Allgaier , Bill Baird , Bob Schacht
Teams Team Penske , CIP