Daytona: Factsheet

RACE: 39th Annual Discount Auto Parts 200, Feb 10th, 2002 TRACK: Daytona Int'l Speedway, 2.5-mile paved oval LOCATION: Daytona Beach, Florida DISTANCE: 200 miles (80 laps) SANCTION: ARCA SERIES: Event ...

RACE: 39th Annual Discount Auto Parts 200, Feb 10th, 2002
TRACK: Daytona Int'l Speedway, 2.5-mile paved oval
LOCATION: Daytona Beach, Florida
DISTANCE: 200 miles (80 laps)
SERIES: Event #1 of the 2002 ARCA RE/MAX Series
PROMOTER: International Speedway Corporation (ISC)

Tues, Feb 5 - Registration, technical inspection
Wed, Feb 6 -- Practice
Thur, Feb 7 -- Old Milwaukee Pole Award Qualifying (1-34, 2 laps)
Fri, Feb 8 - Practice
Sat, Feb 9 - Final Practice
Sun, Feb 10 -- 39th Discount Auto Parts 200 at 11 AM

POSTED AWARDS: $267,594 in prize, point and contingency money.

ARCA OFFICIAL COMPANIES: RE/MAX International Inc, Damon RV, Featherlite Trailers, Hoosier Racing Tires, Racing Electronics, 76 Racing Gas.

ARCA OFFICIAL PRODUCTS: Amkus Rescue Tools, Carolina Motorsports, Cloyes Gear & Products, Earl's Performance Products, Fast Track High Performance Driving School, Flowmaster Mufflers, Harris Torches & Regulators, Holley HP Carbs, K&N Filters, K&N Oil Filters, Kluhsman Racing Products, Landrum Spring Service, Lincoln Electric Welders, Magnum Police Equipment, Motive Gear, National Pork Producers Council, Old Milwaukee Beer, QuicShine 99, RJS Uniforms, S-W Scales by Intercomp, Who's Your Daddy?/Big Daddy's Company.

PARTICIPATING COMPANIES: ATI Dampers, Auto Meter Instruments, Berryman Products, Bilstein Shocks, BSR Racing Products, Clevite Engine Parts, CV Products, Dr. Gas Exhaust Compo nents, Dayco Belts & Hoses, Edelbrock, EMCO Transmissions, Ford Motor Co., Gatorade, Hedman Hedders, Hoosier Performance Tire, Hurd Air Wrenches, Hutcherson-Pagan, Jacobs Electronics, JE Pistons, Leading Edge Race Cars, Loctite Corporation, Lowe Lug Nuts, MSD Ignition, Mechanix Wear, Nelson Specialties, Ohlins Shocks, Penske Racing Shocks, Perfect Circle Piston Rings, Pro Shocks, Quarter Master, Raceline Precision Products, Reed Cams & Blake Carburetors, Rhyne Racing Engines, RJS Racing Equipment, 76 Performance Products, Simpson Race Products, Thermo-Tec Header Wrap, Tilton Engineering, Victor-Reinz Gaskets, Wallace Race Car Lettering, Wilson Manifolds.

TELEVISION: Speed Channel (LIVE) at 11 AM ET. Also re-airs on February 18 from 8 PM -- 10 PM ET.

RADIO: WNDB (LIVE) 1150 AM or at
RADIO: Bill Connell's Pros in Motorsports (LIVE), Sweetwaters Cafe, Thurs Feb 7, Fri Feb 8 and Sat Feb 9 from 9 PM - 10 PM. Also live at

Qualifying, Bill Venturini, 1987, 200.209 mph (44.953)
Race, Lennie Pond, 1976, 153.224 mph

RACE WINNERS AT DAYTONA SINCE 1964 (38 events): Iggy Katona 3; Andy Hampton, Ben Hess, Andy Hillenburg, Jimmy Horton, Jeff Purvis 2; Grant Adcox, Charlie Blanton, Jack Bowsher, Woody Fisher, Bobby Gerhart, Mickey Gibbs, Ferrel Harris, Ron Hutcherson, Kenny Irwin, Ralph Jones, David Keith, Ralph Latham, Ryan Newman, Benny Parsons, Kyle Petty, Lennie Pond, John Rezek, Tim Richmond, Joe Ruttman, Jim Sauter, Glenn Sears, Nelson Stacy, Ramo Stott, Mike Wallace, Rick Wilson 1.

NOTES OF INTEREST: More than 60 teams are entered for the 39th running of the Daytona ARCA 200 recognized this year as the Discount Auto Parts 200. Of the drivers entered only Andy Hillenburg and Bobby Gerhart are former Daytona ARCA winners. At present, 2 Dodge teams are entered: Walkerton IN rookie Chad Blount and 3rd-generation driver Justin Labonte. Labonte, son of 2-time Winston Cup champ Terry Labonte, will utilize the same Dodge he sat outside pole in at Talladega in '01. As part of ARCA's 50th Anniversary season of celebration, past ARCA RE/MAX Series champions will be recognized during pre-race ceremonies. At present, those past champs include Bill Baird, Jack Bowsher, Bobby Bowsher, Bob Brevak, Dave Dayton, Bob Dotter, Hillenburg, Ron Hutcherson, Iggy Katona, Bob Keselowski, Frank Kimmel, Tracy Leslie, Larry Moyer, Benny Parsons, Ramo Stott, Scott Stovall and Bill Venturini. To further help commemorate the anniversary, Kimmel will wear the #50 on his Ford Taurus at Daytona. Only 6 drivers have won from the pole at Daytona: Parsons '69, Andy Hampton '72, Iggy Katona '74, Woody Fisher '77, Jeff Purvis '93 and Hillenburg '97. No driver has repeat wins in consecutive years.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series ARCA
Drivers Terry Labonte , Kyle Petty , Mike Wallace , Ryan Newman , Frank Kimmel , Chad Blount , Andy Hillenburg , Jeff Purvis , Joe Ruttman , Bobby Gerhart , Jim Sauter , Benny Parsons , Bill Baird , Tim Richmond
Teams Team Penske , CIP