Daytona entries update 2009-01-27

Lucas Oil Slick Mist ARCA RE/MAX Series Entries Solid For 46th Annual at Daytona; Logano, Gerhart, Kimmel, Carmichael, Annett, Baird Among Entrants DAYTONA BEACH FL (1-27-09) -- Open the gates, and they will come. That's certainly the case at ...

Lucas Oil Slick Mist ARCA RE/MAX Series Entries Solid For 46th Annual at Daytona; Logano, Gerhart, Kimmel, Carmichael, Annett, Baird Among Entrants

DAYTONA BEACH FL (1-27-09) -- Open the gates, and they will come. That's certainly the case at Daytona Int'l Speedway where the 46th annual Lucas Oil Slick Mist 200 is taking shape as one of the most competitive and colorful in ARCA RE/MAX Series history.

As diverse as the series is itself, so are the drivers currently entered for the event, which is LIVE on SPEED Saturday afternoon, February 7th at 4:00 pm ET.

Among the series regulars entered include nine-time champion Frank Kimmel and five-time Daytona winner Bobby Gerhart. Kimmel, in search of his 10th series championship and 75th career win (just five wins shy of Iggy Katona's all-time win mark of 79), has never won at Daytona. Kimmel's nephew Will Kimmel is also entered. Gerhart, after testing at Daytona in December and at Talladega over the weekend, will be looking for an unprecedented 6th Daytona victory. After winning three consecutive ('05, '06 & '07), Gerhart finished fourth at Daytona in 2008 with Kimmel trailing in fifth.

Outside of Kimmel, Bill Baird is the only former ARCA RE/MAX Series champion entered. Baird, 59, could become the oldest winner ever at Daytona. Baird, who won the championship in 1999, is entered in a Ken Schrader-owned Dodge.

Baird finished third in last year's race right behind second place finisher and 2008 series champion Justin Allgaier. Allgaier, who will not be competing in the ARCA race at Daytona, has announced a full NASCAR Nationwide Series schedule in 2009 with Penske Racing. Three of the top-five finishers in last year's Daytona race (Allgaier, Baird, Kimmel) are former ARCA RE/MAX Series national champions.

From the driver development ranks, Joey Logano and Ricky Carmichael are entered. Logano, entered in a Home Depot Chevrolet under the Venturini Motorsports banner, has never raced at Daytona. Logano plans to compete in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series fulltime in the no. 20 Home Depot Toyota for Joe Gibbs Racing. Carmichael, planning a part-time season of NASCAR Nationwide Series racing for Kevin Harvick, Inc., is entered in a DeLana Harvick-owned Chevrolet sponsored by Monster Energy. Carmichael is arguably the most successful AMA Motocross rider in history.

Venturini Motorsports has also filed entries with Surrey British, Columbia rookie Ryan Fischer and Boise, Idaho's Brian Scott. Fischer, in the Venturini-prepared no. 15, has already announced that he would compete fulltime in the ARCA RE/MAX Series under the Venturini Motorsports banner in 2009.

From the rookie ranks, the field is loaded. Eddie Sharp Racing (ESR) has entered four teams, three of which have rookies at the helm. Those rookies include Tim George, Jr., Steve Arpin and Craig Goess. George and Goess are preparing for full seasons in the ARCA RE/MAX Series while Arpin is currently planning on superspeedways only. ESR has entered a fourth team with veteran Justin Lofton driving. The ESR/Lofton combo has announced a full season in the ARCA RE/MAX Series.

Cunningham Motorsports has also filed three entries with rookie drivers' Nur Ali, the only Asian-American entered, and Parker Kligerman, who is on-track to do some driver development for Penske Racing, which has an affiliation with Cunningham Motorsports. Cunningham Motorsports has also entered veteran Dallas, Texas driver Ken Weaver, who finished third in series points in 2005. Weaver hasn't raced since mid-season, 2006.

For local flavor, Daytona Beach, Florida native Alli Owens is entered in the no. 19 Toyota for D'Hondt Motorsports as is Mario Gosselin from Lake Wales. Phoenix, Arizona's Gabi DiCarlo is also entered in the Great Clips Toyota. Owens and DiCarlo are currently the only female drivers entered.

Other notable entries include Andy Belmont Racing's Tom Hessert, Cartersville, Georgia veteran Mark Thompson, Denver, North Carolina's Matt Carter, Danville, Virginia's Peyton Sellers, Plano, Texas's James Buescher, Lilburn, Georgia's Brett Butler, series veterans' Patrick Sheltra and Bryan Silas, and James Hylton, the oldest driver entered at 74.

Defending race winner Michael Annett, who also tested over the weekend at Talladega, has also filed an entry with Germain Racing. Annett, who won at Talladega in 2007, is also the defending Daytona winner.

Registration opens at 8:00 am Tuesday, February 3rd before haulers enter the garage area at 10 am. Tuesday and Wednesday are slated for inspection procedures only prior to the first on-track activity on Thursday with practice scheduled from 12 noon to 5 pm. Pole Award Qualifying is scheduled for 12 noon Friday followed by a final practice session from 5:10 to 6:15 pm.

LIVE coverage of the Lucas Oil Slick Mist 200 begins at 4:00 PM ET on SPEED Saturday, February 7th.

-credit: arca

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series ARCA
Drivers Kevin Harvick , Andy Belmont , Bobby Gerhart , Ricky Carmichael , James Hylton , Tom Hessert , Ken Weaver , Mario Gosselin , Peyton Sellers , Justin Allgaier , Nur Ali , Bryan Silas , Justin Lofton , Joey Logano , Bill Baird , Michael Annett , Brian Scott , Alli Owens , Steve Arpin , Mark Thompson , Brett Butler , Ryan Fischer , Parker Kligerman , Craig Goess , Will Kimmel , Gabi DiCarlo
Teams Team Penske , Germain Racing , Joe Gibbs Racing