Daytona ARCA factsheet

DAYTONA FACTSHEET <pre> RACE: 38th Annual Discount Auto Parts 200 presented by ACDelco, Feb 11th, 2001 TRACK: Daytona Int'l Speedway, 2.5-mile paved oval LOCATION: Daytona Beach, Florida DISTANCE: 200 miles (80 laps) SANCTION: ...


<pre> RACE: 38th Annual Discount Auto Parts 200 presented by ACDelco, Feb 11th, 2001 TRACK: Daytona Int'l Speedway, 2.5-mile paved oval LOCATION: Daytona Beach, Florida DISTANCE: 200 miles (80 laps) SANCTION: ARCA SERIES: Event #1 of the 2001 ARCA RE/MAX Series PROMOTER: International Speedway Corporation SCHEDULE: Tues, Feb 6 - Registration, technical inspection Wed, Feb 7 - Practice Thur, Feb 8 – Old Milwaukee Beer Pole Award Qualifying (1-34, 2 laps)

Fri, Feb 9 - Practice Sat, Feb 10 - Final Practice Sun, Feb 11 – 38th Discount Auto Parts 200 at 11 AM

</pre> POSTED AWARDS: $264,213 in prize, point and contingency money.

ARCA OFFICIAL COMPANIES: RE/MAX International Inc, Auto Value Parts Stores, Damon RV, Featherlite Trailers, Hoosier Racing Tires, Racing Electronics, 76 Racing Gas.

ARCA OFFICIAL PRODUCTS: Amerex Fire Suppression Systems, Amkus Rescue Tools, Cloyes Gear & Products, Cornwell Quality Tools, Earl's Performance Products, Fastlane Footwear, Fast Track High Performance Driving School, Flowmaster Mufflers, Harris Torches & Regulators, Hawk Brake, Holley HP Carbs, K&N Filters, K&N Oil Filters, Landrum Spring Service, Lincoln Electric Welders, Magnum Police Equipment, Motive Gear, National Pork Producers Council, Old Milwaukee Beer, QuicShine 99, RJS Uniforms, S-W Scales by Intercomp.

PARTICIPATING COMPANIES: ATI Dampers, Auto Meter Instruments, Bilstein Shocks, BSR Racing Products, Carrera Shocks, Clevite Engine Parts, CV Products, Dayco Belts & Hoses, Edelbrock, Ford Motor Co., Gatorade, Hedman Hedders, Hoosier Performance Tire, Hutcherson-Pagan, Jacobs Electronics, JE Pistons, Leading Edge Race Cars, Loctite Corporation, Lowe Lug Nuts, Maurtco Powder Coating, MSD Ignition, Nelson Specialties, Oceans Resorts, Ohlins Shocks, Penske Racing Shocks, Pro Cylinder Heads, Pro Shocks, Quarter Master,, Raceline Precision Products, Reed Cams & Carburetors, Rhyne Racing Engines, Ringers Resources, RJS Racing Equipment, 76 Performance Products, Simpson Race Products, Thermo-Tec Header Wrap, Victor-Reinz Gaskets, Wallace Race Car Lettering.

TELEVISION: FOX Sports Net, Feb 12 at 1 PM ET following live Winston Cup practice.

RECORDS: Qualifying, Bill Venturini, 1987, 200.209 mph (44.953); Race, Lennie Pond, 1976, 153.224 mph

RACE WINNERS AT DAYTONA SINCE 1964 (37 events): Iggy Katona 3; Andy Hampton, Ben Hess, Andy Hillenburg, Jimmy Horton, Jeff Purvis 2; Grant Adcox, Charlie Blanton, Jack Bowsher, Woody Fisher, Bobby Gerhart, Mickey Gibbs, Ferrel Harris, Ron Hutcherson, Kenny Irwin, Ralph Jones, David Keith, Ralph Latham, Benny Parsons, Kyle Petty, Lennie Pond, John Rezek, Tim Richmond, Joe Ruttman, Jim Sauter, Glenn Sears, Nelson Stacy, Ramo Stott, Mike Wallace, Rick Wilson 1.

NOTES OF INTEREST: More than 60 drivers are ready to roll in the 38th running of the Daytona ARCA 200 recognized this year as the Discount Auto Parts 200 presented by ACDelco. Entries have already been received from Michael Kranefuss Racing with driver Shawna Robinson who returns for her third second season on tour as well as an entry from Dale Earnhardt Inc with Kerry Earnhardt as the driver. Former Winston Cup champion Terry Labonte has entered a Chevy with his son Justin tagged as the driver while Roger Penske’s Alltel Ford driver’s seat will be occupied by 3-time RE/MAX Series winner Ryan Newman. Former RE/MAX Series champions entered include defending champ Frank Kimmel as well as 3-time champ Tim Steele who will make his first attempt at Daytona since 1997. Although Steele is the all-time RE/MAX Series superspeedway winner with 22 superspeedway victories, the Coopersville MI driver has never won at Daytona. Additional RE/MAX Series regulars entered include ’99 winner Bobby Gerhart, defending race winner David Keith, 16-time RE/MAX Series winner Bob Strait, Daytona Beach natives Mark Gibson and Dan Pardus and last year’s polesitter Kirk Shelmerdine. The event also marks the return of 2-time Daytona ARCA 200 winner Ben Hess to RE/MAX Series competition. Only 6 drivers have won from the pole at Daytona: Benny Parsons '69, Andy Hampton '72, Iggy Katona '74, Woody Fisher '77, Jeff Purvis '93 and Hillenburg '97. No driver has repeat wins in consecutive years.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series ARCA
Drivers Terry Labonte , Kyle Petty , Shawna Robinson , Mike Wallace , Ryan Newman , Frank Kimmel , Andy Hillenburg , Jeff Purvis , Joe Ruttman , Kerry Earnhardt , Bobby Gerhart , Tim Steele , Kirk Shelmerdine , Jim Sauter , Mark Gibson , Benny Parsons , Roger Penske , Tim Richmond
Teams Team Penske , CIP