Adirondack: Race summary

Wormcastle wins melee in the mountains. New Bremen, NY (9-8-02) -- Newly built Adirondack International Speedway can be found in a quiet, scenic, serene section of the Adirondack Mountains of New York. That is, until the ARCA Lincoln Welders...

Wormcastle wins melee in the mountains.

New Bremen, NY (9-8-02) -- Newly built Adirondack International Speedway can be found in a quiet, scenic, serene section of the Adirondack Mountains of New York. That is, until the ARCA Lincoln Welders Truck Series comes along! Amidst a melee of spins, broken motors, and a little pushin' and shovin', New Haven, Indiana's Pete Wormcastle emerged victorious at Sunday afternoon's 100-lap truck race at A.I.S.

For the fourth time this season and the second consecutive race, Piqua, Ohio's Jeff Speakman stole the Old Milwaukee Pole Award in the Pennzoil-National Auto Lube Ford. Teammate and rookie standout Brandon Knupp landed on the outside pole.

Speakman and Knupp wrestled for the lead, with 16-year-old Knupp finally grabbing the front position from Speakman on lap 22. As Knupp began to lap the field, slower traffic cost him the lead, and Grove City, Ohio's Jack Weethee took over in the Weethee Builders-Den's Automotive Ford on lap 32.

Wormcastle's Witwer Construction-Preferred Painting & Roofing Chevy snatched the lead from the veteran Weethee on lap 39 and charged ahead, overpowering the competition throughout caution flags and lapped traffic galore, to take his third win of the 2002 season.

"The flywheel broke on my truck so I had to borrow my dad's," Wormcastle said. His father Joe is another competitor in the truck series. "Since my dad did the set up already, I never had to touch the truck. I have to thank him a lot for everything he's done for me.

"I really want to thank my crew chief Ray Kelly and everyone else who came along to help this weekend. It's been a lot of work for us. We still think the championship is a possibility for us. Chad's (Guinn) really good on the dirt, and I'm pretty good on the dirt, so I guess we'll just have to wait and see when we get to Tri-City."

Two-time champion Robbin Slaughter piloted the Screamin' Eagle Ltd.- GRW Auto Service Ford to a second place finish after qualifying back at ninth, while a smoking Brett Oakley, of Anna, Ohio, followed closely at third in the MAR-FLEX Products-Bales Motorsports Ford. Weethee ended up at fourth after the checkered, while Sheffield Village, Ohio's Eddy Adams grabbed fifth in the Lakeside Auto Parts-Bootless Joe Show Ford. The elder Wormcastle brought home sixth in his Fort Wayne, Indiana-based Witwer Construction Chevy.

In her first start this season, Toledo, Ohio's Kendra Lake finished in seventh spot in the MAR-FLEX Products- Bales Motorsports second entry, earning Ed & Company Hard Charger honors from coming from 17th on the starting grid. The Mark Knupp Muffler & Tire Ford of Sidney, Ohio's Brandon Knupp ended up eighth after a blown tire forced him to pit late in the race. Mark Otting, of Plainwell, Michigan, nabbed ninth in the Westfalia-Surge-Posilac 1 Step Ford, while polesitter Speakman was 10th.

The ARCA Lincoln Welders Truck Series champion will be decided at the final race of 2002- Tri-City Speedway, a dirt-mile in Franklin, Pennsylvania. Who will win the ring this season?

Series Notes:

- Unofficial rookie points standings: 1. Brandon Knupp (2605); 2. Kevin Reeb (2275).

-With this victory at the ARCA Lincoln Welders Truck Series inaugural race at Adirondack, Witwer Racing driver Pete Wormcastle has tallied three wins so far this season, including Lorain County and another brand new venue- I-75 Speedway. Other active drivers included on the all-time series winners list are Chad Guinn, 15 (Lake Erie- Sept., Dixie, Ona, Illiana, LaSalle, 2002; Flat Rock, Kentucky, Lorain, LaSalle, 2001; Toledo, Plymouth, Flat Rock, Winchester, 2000; Owosso, Crystal, 1999); Robbin Slaughter, 8 (Chicago, Crystal, Toledo, 2001; Salem, Berlin, Toledo, Illiana, 2000; Toledo, 1999); Paul Hahn, 2 (New Paris, 2001; Flat Rock, 2002); Jeff Speakman, 2 (Lake Erie- July, 2002; Shady Bowl, 1999); with one each: Phil Bozell (Toledo, 2002), Tully Esterline (LaSalle, 1999), John Kasmierski (Thunderbird, 1999), Jack Weethee (Illiana, 2001), Joe Wormcastle (Kentucky, 2002), Bill Withers (Shady Bowl, 2000).

- New track records set during qualifying this year by ARCA Lincoln Welders Truck Series drivers include Jeff Speakman, Adirondack International Speedway, 17.63 seconds, Lake Erie Speedway, 15.875, Ona Speedway, 17.995; Brett Oakley, Dixie Motor Speedway, 15.512; Brandon Knupp, I-75 Speedway, 15.313; Steve Christman, Kentucky Speedway, 14.996; Darren Jones, LaSalle Speedway, 15.14.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series ARCA
Drivers Brandon Knupp