SuperX: Series Oakland round four event report

Stewart Scores Second Win of the Season in Oakland
Tickle Takes Lites Class Win

OAKLAND, Calif. (January 29 2011) -- Team San Manuel/Yamaha's James Stewart, of Haines City, won his second Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, race at Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum before 44,394 fans and moved into the points lead. Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki's Broc Tickle, of Holly, Mich., captured his first Western Regional Supercross Lites class race of the season.

Monster Energy Kawasaki's Ryan Villopoto, of Poulsbo, Wash., edged out TwoTwo Motorsports' Chad Reed, of Tampa, Fla., for the holeshot in the Supercross class main event. Defending class champion Ryan Dungey started third and was quickly passed by Stewart. On lap two, Villopoto crashed, handing the lead to Stewart. Stewart led the next 18 laps en route to his second race win of the season. On the last corner of the race Reed passed Dungey for second place.

"This is a great win for me and the team," said Stewart. "It's a long season and it's all about winning a championship. The rain tonight made it a little difficult, but I am glad I came out on top."

Despite the heavy rain that fell just before the start of the Western Regional Supercross Lites class main event, Geico Honda's Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., won the holeshot with Red Bull/KTM's Ken Roczen, of Mattstedt, Germany, and Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki's Hansen in tow. Tomac spun out on lap three, giving the lead to Roczen. On laps four and five, Roczen and Hansen traded positions until near the end of lap five when Hansen secured the lead.

Tickle also passed Roczen on lap five and moved into the lead on lap eight. Roczen went down on lap nine, dropping several positions while Tomac moved into third. Hansen finished second and Tomac held on for third, marking the second podium of his career.

"I was so focused out there tonight," said Tickle. "I knew it was going to be really slick out there, so I tried to ride smooth and take it lap by lap."

Hansen leads Tickle in championship points 88 to 87.

-source: ama

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series AMA
Drivers Chad Reed , Eli Tomac , Ryan Dungey , Ryan Villopoto , Broc Tickle