SUPERCROSS: World: Season finale summary

Kawasaki's Stewart Closes Out Amp'd Mobile Supercross with 13th Win Dungey Wins Dave Coombs Sr. East/West Supercross Lites Shootout, Toyota Tundra LAS VEGAS (May 5, 2007) -- In front of 39,006, Kawasaki's James Stewart, of Haines City,...

Kawasaki's Stewart Closes Out Amp'd Mobile Supercross with 13th Win

Dungey Wins Dave Coombs Sr. East/West Supercross Lites Shootout, Toyota Tundra

LAS VEGAS (May 5, 2007) -- In front of 39,006, Kawasaki's James Stewart, of Haines City, Fla., capped off a successful AMA World Supercross GP/Amp'd Mobile Supercross Series with a win at the season finale inside Sam Boyd Stadium. Suzuki's Ryan Dungey, of Belle Plaine, Minn., won the Dave Coombs Sr. East/West AMA Supercross Lites Shootout and was awarded a 2007 Toyota Tundra Truck.

Honda's David Vuillemin, of Menifee, Calif., clinched the Unites States Smokeless Tobacco Company's Pro Privateer Challenge last weekend at Seattle's Qwest Field and walked away with $25,000. Tonight, Kawasaki's Paul Carpenter, of Ithaca, N.Y, secured the second place and took home $15,000. Honda's Heath Voss, of Mico, Texas, finished third in the final World Supercross GP standings, earning the $10,000 third place award.

In the AMA Supercross main event, Stewart won the $1,500 Progressive Direct Holeshot Award with Yamaha's Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., in tow. After securing both the Amp'd Mobile World Supercross GP and Amp'd Mobile AMA Supercross Series titles in Seattle, Stewart turned in another dominant performance and walked away with his 13th win of the season. Reed was second while Honda's Kevin Windham, of Centreville, Miss., finished third.

"I had a perfect 20 laps out there, no mistakes," said Stewart. "Chad was running with me in the beginning. I felt like I had some really good lines out there. I work really hard. I won't let me guard down."

Kawasaki's Ben Townley, of Tallahassee, Fla., grabbed the $1,000 Progressive Direct Holeshot Award to start the 15-lap AMA Supercross Lites main event. Dungey quickly took over the lead on the opening lap, with Townley, who won the Eastern Regional AMA Supercross title and Villopoto, who won the Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites title, trailing.

Before the end of lap one, Townley and Villopoto suffered mechanical problems. Villopoto withdrew from the race and Townley re-started in last place. On lap three Yamaha's Josh Hill of Yoncalla,, Ore., attempted to pass Dungey but crashed. Honda's Jake Weimer, of Rupert, Idaho, pulled into second place but was unable to catch Dungey. Dungey rode to his fourth AMA Supercross Lites victory of the season. Weimer finished second and KTM's Martin Davalos finished third.

"Hard work pays off," said Dungey. "Just last year, before I turned pro, I was watching this race from the stands. I have come a long way in a year, and I am so pumped to be up on the podium. I owe this to my team and family, who have supported me all year. This was a great crowd; I could hear them every lap screaming and cheering."

CBS Sports will broadcast a one-hour season review on Sunday, May 6, at 1 p.m. EST, to recap the 2006-07 Amp'd Mobile World Supercross GP/Amp'd Mobile AMA Supercross Series. The Dave Coombs Sr. East/West Shootout will air on SPEED Friday, May 18, at Noon EST.

KTM Junior Supercross Challenge
1. Bret Welch, Oklahoma City, Okla., KTM
2. Hank Van, Brandon, Miss., KTM
3. Challen Tennant, Willis, Texas, KTM
4. Matthew Fletcher, Dubai, KTM
5. Dylan Diamond, Norfolk, Mass., KTM
6. Owen Liechti, Excelsior Springs, Mo., KTM
7. Chance Lucchesi, Henderson, Nev., KTM
8. Jacob Hampton, Victorville, Calif., KTM
9. Nolan Keckley, San Marcos, Calif., KTM
10. Tyler Gillis, Cumming, Ga., KTM
11. Joshua Serne, Placerville, Calif., KTM
12. Michel Pinho, Santa Barbara, Calif., KTM
13. Zachary Frausto, Temecula, Calif., KTM
14. Eddie Johannes, Fairport, N.Y., KTM
15. Lauren Desrosiers, Crawfordville, Fla., KTM

Amp'd Mobile World Supercross GP Season Standings
1. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Kawasaki, 404
2. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha, 364
3. Timmy Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki, 302
4. David Vuillemin, Menifee, Calif., Honda, 240
5. Michael Byrne, Newnan, Ga., Suzuki, 211
6. Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki, 206
7. Paul Carpenter, Ithaca, N.Y., Kawasaki, 194
8. Heath Voss, Mico, Texas, Honda, 189
9. Ricky Carmichael, Tallahassee, Fla., Suzuki, 185
10. Jeff Gibson, Blacklick, Ohio, Kawasaki, 171


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series AMA , Other bike
Drivers Ricky Carmichael , David Vuillemin , Kevin Windham , Chad Reed , Heath Voss , Jeff Gibson , Josh Hill , James Stewart , Jake Weimer , Ryan Dungey