SUPERCROSS: US Open Friday night summary

Stewart Wins Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open's Opening Night of Competition Honda's Grant Captures Night 1 Win in MMI AMA Supercross Lites Feature AURORA, Ill. (October 13, 2006) -- Kawasaki's James Stewart won the Alpinestars AMA Supercross...

Stewart Wins Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open's Opening Night of Competition

Honda's Grant Captures Night 1 Win in MMI AMA Supercross Lites Feature

AURORA, Ill. (October 13, 2006) -- Kawasaki's James Stewart won the Alpinestars AMA Supercross class at the Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open inside the MGM Grand Garden Arena. Stewart, of Haines City, Fla., won the opening night of the Toyota Trifecta by winning the Superpole, Progressive Direct Holeshot Award and main event, landing him a $50,000 pay check.

Leading all 20 laps Honda's Josh Grant, of Riverside, Calif., won night one in the Motorcycle Mechanics Institute (MMI) AMA Supercross Lites class. CBS Sports Spectacular will broadcast the Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open Saturday, October 21, from 1:30-3:00 p.m. EST.

After banging bars down the start straight with Suzuki's Ricky Carmichael, the defending champion, Stewart pushed his motorcycle first across the $5,000 Progressive Direct Holeshot line. Carmichael, of Tallahassee, Fla., slid out and remounted in last place. Carmichael fought his way back to second place on Lap 18 of 25 and settled for second. Honda's Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., finished third.

"I do that every once in a while," said Carmichael, who was three U.S. Open wins in his illustrious career. "I was just trying to put myself in a good position, but things happen. I had to take it easy on some of the left hand turns because of my shoulder. I am proud of how I came back from last night. This place is so exciting, and I will be back tomorrow night. I can be the spoiler tomorrow night.

"I wanted to get out front," said Stewart. "It is hard to pass so I needed a good start. I focused on the start and it turned out great. I saw that I had a good gap on the first lap. This place feels like home."

In the MMI AMA Supercross Lites class main event Grant snuck by KTM's Josh Hansen to earn the Progressive Direct Holeshot Award. Kawasaki's Chris Gosselaar worked his way around Hansen, Temecula, Calif., on Lap 4 and secured second place. On Lap 9 Hansen pulled out of the race. The win for Grant was his first-ever in Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open competition. Gosselaar, of Corona, Calif., finished second and Yamaha's Justin Brayton, of Murrieta, Calif., finished third.

"I have been riding great and feel really comfortable," said Grant. That is what it takes to win. Chris (Gosselaar) rode a great race tonight and kept me honest."

Alpinestars AMA Supercross Class Results

1. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Kawasaki
2. Ricky Carmichael, Tallahassee, Fla., Suzuki
3. Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda
4. Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki
5. Tim Ferry, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki
6. Michael Byrne, Menifee, Calif., Kawasaki
7. David Vuillemin, Menifee, Calif., Honda
8. Josh Demuth, Kingwood, Texas, Honda
9. Chad Johnson, Rhinelander, Wis., Suzuki
10. Keith Johnson, Albuquerque, N.M., Yamaha
11. Brock Sellards, Sherrodsville, Ohio, Honda
12. Cole Siebler, Emmett, Idaho, Suzuki

MMI AMA Supercross Lites Class Results

1. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Honda
2. Chris Gosselaar, Victorville, Calif., Kawasaki
3. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha
4. Jake Weimer, Corona, Calif., Honda
5. Sean Collier, Saugua, Calif., Yamaha
6. Steve Boniface, Lewisville, Texas, Honda
7. Troy Adams, Brookville, Fla., Suzuki
8. Kelly Smith, Ludington, Mich., Suzuki
9. Matt Georke, Valencia, Calif., Yamaha
10. Ben Townley, Tallahassee, Fla., Kawasaki
11. Josh Hansen, Temecula, Calif., KTM
12. Eric Sorby, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Honda

KTM Junior Supercross Challenge

1. Ashton Hayes, Rockford, Mich., KTM
2. Ricky Beaton, Holland Landing, ON, KTM
3. Davy Pootjes, Ammerzoden, Holland, KTM
4. Jerry Robin, Big Lake, Minn., KTM
5. Mark Worth, Quenn Creek, Ariz., KTM
6. Senett Ferris, Pacific, Wash., KTM
7. Rookie White, Winchester, Calif., KTM
8. Tyler Rosa, Mission Viejo, Calif., KTM
9. Jacob Edison, Woodenhaven, Mich., KTM
10. Tyler Kirschner, Columbia, Md., KTM
11. Ryan Miller, Ocala, Fla., KTM
12. Brandon Tolsma, Holland, Mich., KTM
13. Mason Bryan, Elizabethtown, Ken., KTM
14. Troy Archer, San Diego, Calif., KTM
15. Jeremy Crookshank, Moreno Valley, Calif., KTM
16. Casey Kinney, Ukiah, Calif., KTM
17. Blake Green, Riverside, Calif., KTM

Built into this year's Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open format will be the three part Toyota Trucks Trifecta bonus program that will pay additional money to the fastest qualifier for each night's event, a bonus to each night's Progressive Direct Holeshot winner and a bonus for any rider that can complete the Toyota Trucks Trifecta challenge by being the fastest qualifier, getting the Progressive Direct Holeshot and winning the main event. Any rider that hits the Toyota Trucks Trifecta will earn a $50,000 bonus each night in addition to the regular event purse and any rider that can "Double Down" and hit the Toyota Trucks Trifecta both nights will walk away with $250,000 for the weekend.

-credit: ama

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series AMA , Other bike
Drivers Ricky Carmichael , David Vuillemin , Kevin Windham , Kelly Smith , Josh Grant , Justin Brayton , James Stewart , Jake Weimer , Ryan Miller