AMA

Carmichael races for records

AURORA, Ill. - EA SPORTS Supercross Presented by Speed Stick will - once again - be aired live on Pay-Per-View from the series' final round at Las Vegas' Sam Boyd Stadium with encore presentations. Round 16 is the final destination of the tour...

AURORA, Ill. - EA SPORTS Supercross Presented by Speed Stick will - once again - be aired live on Pay-Per-View from the series' final round at Las Vegas' Sam Boyd Stadium with encore presentations. Round 16 is the final destination of the tour and the champion will be crowned Live on Pay-Per-View.

The 2001 season of EA SPORTS Supercross has reached a pinnacle with increased attendance numbers, shattering television ratings, and more mainstream media attention than ever before. To make a point, the taped delayed broadcast of the Pontiac Supercross, as one of three ABC shows this season, drew more viewers than both the live CART and IRL events combined. Moreover, the second leg of the ABC broadcasts earned a 1.2 rating with a 3 share.

"The Supercross series can probably make a valid argument they've usurped NASCAR's crown of the fastest growing sport in America," said Matt McLaughlin, Speedfx.com.

The EA SPORTS Supercross finals, which will be shown Live on Pay-Per-View Saturday, May 5th at 10:30 p.m. ET/7:30p.m. PT, will be replayed in its entirety on Sunday, May 6th on iN-DEMAND 1 at 7:30PM ET/4:30PM PT and on iN-DEMAND 2 at 3:00 p.m. ET/Noon PT. The encore presentation of this event will also be available all day Sunday, May 6th on DirecTV and Dish Network. Check with your local cable or satellite provider for times and availability.

The Dave Coombs 125 East/West Shootout in Las Vegas will be the proving grounds to see who is the greatest 125cc supercross rider. Last year Team Suzuki's Travis Pastrana took control of the competition with his first-ever Dave Coombs 125 East/West Shootout win in front of a sold-out Sam Boyd Stadium.

Team Chevy Trucks Kawasaki's Ricky Carmichael, who is the reigning U.S. Open Champion, clinched the 250cc championship in Irving, Texas, April 21st. With the championship in the bag, Carmichael will chase after Team Mazda Yamaha rider Jeremy McGrath's records: most wins in a season (14) and consecutive wins in a season (13). Carmichael must win in Salt Lake City and Las Vegas to tie these records.

Tickets are now available at www.sfx.com <http://www.sfx.com> and www.ticketmaster.com <http://www.ticketmaster.com>. Be a part of the action and watch the fastest growing motor sport jump into a stadium near you.

-SFX

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series AMA
Drivers Ricky Carmichael , Travis Pastrana , Jeremy McGrath
Tags TV