Terry Borcheller Birmingham/Portland preview

red-eye racing Terry Borcheller will be looking for a quiet seat on Saturday night as he shuttles between races in Portland, Ore., and Birmingham, Ala. The Gainesville, Ga., driver will compete in an American Le Mans Series race at Portland ...

red-eye racing

Terry Borcheller will be looking for a quiet seat on Saturday night as he shuttles between races in Portland, Ore., and Birmingham, Ala. The Gainesville, Ga., driver will compete in an American Le Mans Series race at Portland International Raceway on Saturday evening, then catch an overnight flight to Atlanta, Ga., where he'll pick up his car and drive two hours to Barber Motorsports Park in Birmingham for a Rolex Sports Car Series race on Sunday.

Borcheller has done the double many times before, honoring contracts with his teams and personal sponsors K&N Performance Filters, Bondurant School of High Performance Racing and Alpinestars. In fact, he has not missed a Rolex Series race since the introduction of the Daytona Prototype class in 2003, a total of 31 races to date. In the American Le Mans Series, he has competed in 51 of 59 races since the series started in 1999, driving both prototype and GT cars.

Portland

Borcheller has scored two podium finishes on the 1.944-mile Portland International Raceway road course, both in the Saleen S7R. He'll be back in a Saleen this week, driving with Johnny Mowlem of London, England. The pair are hoping to gain some momentum from their podium finish at Infineon (Sears Point) Raceway in Sonoma, Calif., on July 17, and from the team's Michelin tires.

"We just came off a very strong finish at Sears Point. The car was great, the best that it's been all year. I think we'll be as good or moving forward at Portland," Borcheller said. "I'm very happy to be on the Michelin tires at Portland. It's very difficult to find grip at that track. Any time there are adverse circumstances, whether it be the track surface or the heat or whatever, every tire struggles, but the Michelin is always the best."

Birmingham

Borcheller won't arrive at Barber Motorsports Park until race day, but he'll be prepared. As an instructor in the Porsche Driving Experience, Borcheller logs many miles on the smooth 2.3-mile track. He won the first Rolex Series race at Barber in 2003 and started second on the grid last year with a lap time four seconds faster than the previous record.

"A lot of [team sponsor] Kodak people come out for this race, so it's an important one for us," Borcheller said. "We won the inaugural race in 2003, had the outside pole in '04 and ran in the top-three for most of the race. I teach at the Porsche Driving Experience, so I've got a lot of time around the track, which is going to be helpful because I'm not going to get any practice."

Borcheller's co-driver, Ralf Kelleners of Dusseldorf, Germany, will qualify the No. 54 Bell Motorsports/Feeds the Need Pontiac-powered Doran JE4 for the Birmingham race.

fan chat

Borcheller will participate in an ALMS fan chat on Monday, July 25 at 5 pm ET. Fans can join him online through americanlemans.com.

details

The American Le Mans Series race is scheduled for Saturday, July 30 from 5 pm to 7:45 pm PT (8 pm to 10:45 pm ET) on the 1.944-mile Portland (Ore.) International Raceway. The race will be televised live on Speed Channel from 5 pm to 8 pm PT (8 pm to 11 pm ET). Live timing/scoring will be available at americanlemans.com.

The Rolex Sports Car Series race will run on Sunday, July 31 from noon to 2:45 pm CT (1 pm to 3:45 pm ET) on the 2.3-mile Barber Motorsports Park road course in Birmingham, Ala. The race will air live on Speed Channel from noon to 3 pm CT (1 pm to 4 pm ET). Live timing/scoring and audio will be available at grandamerican.com.

online
tborcheller.com

-sp-

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series ALMS , Grand-Am
Drivers Ralf Kelleners , Terry Borcheller , Johnny Mowlem