Series news on Green X Challenge update 2009-08-13

REVEALING EFFICENCY AND PERFORMANCE AT MID-OHIO Top performers continue to claim both podium finishes as well as MICHELIN® GREEN X® Challenge accolades for their on track performances. Battling on one of the most demanding and...


Top performers continue to claim both podium finishes as well as MICHELIN® GREEN X® Challenge accolades for their on track performances. Battling on one of the most demanding and technically challenging tracks in the American Le Mans Series, Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course presented manufacturers and teams with 13 high- and low-speed turns along the 2.25-mile race circuit.

Preparation, however, proved invaluable and brought the E10-fueled de Ferran XM Acura-02a and E85R-powered Corvette C6.R to the winners circle as the leading prototype and GT car in Series dual categories.

MANUFACTURER STANDINGS Acura and Porsche continue to lead the manufacturer championship of the MICHELIN® GREEN X® Challenge for the best fuel economy in both the Prototype and Grand Touring manufacturer categories.

Through the Acura Sports Car Challenge, Acura is the leading prototype manufacturer in category with a 57-point championship lead in the MICHELIN® GREEN X® Challenge, followed by Mazda and Audi.

Among the GT competitors, Porsche continues to epitomize efficiency and speed by carrying a 24-point lead. In second place is Ford while BMW holds onto third place.

With Corvette Racing not only continuing its dedication to the MICHELIN® GREEN X® Challenge by running on E85, its recent transition into GT2 makes the desire to win is that much greater.


Acura's strong leadership on the grid - starting with Patron Highcroft Racing (LMP1) with 132 points, and followed closely by Lowe's Fernandez Racing (LMP2) with 133 points and de Ferran Motorsports (LMP1) with 137 points - secures the top three overall spots in the team championship points summary. Mazda continuing its strong pursuit in LMP2 follows close behind the Acuras in the MICHELIN® GREEN X® Challenge points after Mid- Ohio. Both Dyson Racing entries are tied for fourth.

In GT category, Porsche possess more top finishers in the team points as the No. 45 Flying Lizard team leads with 132 points. Second place is home to fellow Porsche team Farnbacher Loles Racing with 153 points. While the sister No. 44 Flying Lizard car owns a fourth place finish, the Panoz Esperante GTLM remains relentless and sits third with 156 total team championship points.


The Acura Sports Car Challenge led by de Ferran Motorsports' drivers Gil de Ferran and Simon Pagenaud marked the team's fourth consecutive overall race and fourth straight MICHELIN® GREEN X® Challenge win. De Ferran's victory supported a 1-2-3 sweep for Acura with Patron Highcroft Racing and Lowe's Fernandez Racing in both the race and in the Prototype category of the MICHELIN® GREEN X® Challenge. Despite the harsh track conditions which included a slick surface due to rain and fog, de Ferran commented that the radical wide-tire design which outfits the Acura prototypes aided in the longevity and the success of the Acura teams.

Corvette Racing, on the other hand, displayed a dominant performance in the GT category. With the next-generation Corvette C6.R, the No. 3 Corvette Racing entry of Le Mans winners Johnny O'Connell and Jan Magnussen produced a second place GT2 finish and the first MICHELIN® GREEN X® Challenge GT victory since their transition from GT1. This also marked its second victory in the MICHELIN® GREEN X® Challenge for the 2009 season; the first came at the season opening event at Sebring as a GT1 entry. Following close behind in second in the environmental competition were the No. 4 Corvette Racing team of Olivier Berretta and Oliver Gavin and No. 44 Flying Lizard duo of Seth Neiman and Darren Law.

Both the Acura and Corvette entry continue to be fitted with Michelins throughout each race weekend.

The revolutionary 'race-within-a-race' rewards all Series manufacturers and teams on their overall performance, fuel efficiency and environmental impact at each event. Points are awarded to teams in either the LMP or GT categories. Each team will start with a maximum of 225 points in 2009. When teams win, points are deducted. The successful teams will therefore have fewer points.

-credit: alms

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series ALMS
Drivers Jan Magnussen , Gil de Ferran , Johnny O'Connell , Oliver Gavin , Darren Law , Seth Neiman , Simon Pagenaud
Teams Corvette Racing , Dyson Racing