Sebring: Porsche hour 4 report

From Wolf Henzler grabbing the GT2 lead at the start of the race in the ...

From Wolf Henzler grabbing the GT2 lead at the start of the race in the #17 Team Falken Tire Porsche 911 GT3 RSR to Joerg Bergmeister, Patrick Long, and Marc Lieb all leading the class during their stint in the #45 Flying Lizard Porsche, the battle among the world's best sports car manufacturers has lived up to its predictions running the first four hours of the 58th running of the Mobil1 Twelve Hours of Sebring.

Ferrari, BMW, and Corvette have all led the class, with current standings showing the Melo/Bruni/Kaffer Ferrari running first, the Bergmeister/Long/Lieb Porsche second, and the Werner/Milner/Auberlen BMW third. The Falken Tire Porsche with Henzler/Pilet/Sellers is currently sixth, one lap down. The factory Corvettes were contesting for the lead at the three-hour mark when the #4 Corvette hit their #3 teammate in the pit lane.

In LMP2, Greg Pickett opened the race for the #6 Muscle Milk Porsche RS Spyder, and the car owner drove a double stint, leaving the car in good shape in second place for teammate Klaus Graf, who is also driving a double stint. Sascha Maassen will climb into the car he helped develop later in the afternoon.

In the new GT Challenge class for Porsche 911 GT3 Cup cars, the Alex Job Racing entities are running one-two, with the Bill Sweedler/Romeo Kapudija/Jan-Dirk Lueders Battery Tender Porsche in front, and the #81 Mission Foods Porsche piloted by Leh Keen/Butch Leitzinger/Juan Gonzales second.

In the Michelin Green X Challenge, which measures efficiency and petroleum displacement and carbon credits among the LMP and GT competitors, the defending champions, the #44 Flying Lizard Porsche squad of Seth Neiman/Darren Law/Richard Lietz, with their E85 ethanol fuel use, are leading their class. This Porsche won the season-long Michelin Green X Challenge last year.

-source: porsche

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series ALMS
Drivers Butch Leitzinger , Klaus Graf , Sascha Maassen , Darren Law , Greg Pickett , Marc Lieb , Seth Neiman , Wolf Henzler , Jan-Dirk Lueders , Lehman Keen , Richard Lietz , Bill Sweedler
Teams Team Falken Tire