Petit Le Mans P2 pole for ESM Patrón

Brabham earns ESM's third team pole; No. 02 to start fourth

Braselton, Ga., – Oct. 18, 2013 – Extreme Speed Motorsports (ESM) captured its first P2 pole position in the American Le Mans Series presented by Tequila Patrón today during Petit Le Mans qualifying. David Brabham earned ESM’s second consecutive first-place starting position at Road Atlanta and third pole for the Florida-based team.

Following a rain-filled Thursday, qualifying took place under the best weather conditions of the week.

Brabham captured his 14th career ALMS pole position. Driving the No. 01 Tequila Patrón Honda Performance Development (HPD) ARX-03b, he lapped the 2.54-mile, 12-turn circuit in 1:12.668, just 0.124 seconds quicker than the second-place qualifier.

#01 Extreme Speed Motorsports HPD ARX-03b HPD: Scott Sharp, Anthony Lazzaro, David Brabham
#01 Extreme Speed Motorsports HPD ARX-03b HPD: Scott Sharp, Anthony Lazzaro, David Brabham

Photo by: Eric Gilbert

For Saturday’s 10-hour/1,000-mile event, the No. 01 team will have Scott Sharp start the race. Sharp sits second in the P2 drivers’ standings, a mere six points out of the lead. Anthony Lazzaro drives second, and pole winner Brabham will drive third.

Channeling energy and results from the 2012 Petit Le Mans, the No. 01 ESM GT machine started from the pole position and went on to win the season-ending endurance race by nearly 30 seconds.

Johannes van Overbeek qualified the No. 02 Tequila Patrón Honda Performance Development (HPD) ARX-03b fourth in the P2 class. During the 15-minute qualifying session, van Overbeek’s best lap of 1:13.929 occurred late in the session. Unfortunately, two red-flag periods took away six minutes of the 15-minute session and prevented van Overbeek from building momentum for a better qualifying lap.

The No. 02 driver lineup for Saturday’s race will have van Overbeek driving the first stint. Co-driver Ed Brown will race second, and Rob Bell is slated for third.

Extreme Speed Motorsports

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series ALMS
Drivers David Brabham , Scott Sharp , Anthony Lazzaro , Rob Bell , Johannes van Overbeek , Eric Gilbert , Ed Brown
Teams ESM Racing
Article type Qualifying report
Tags david brabham, esm, extreme speed motorsports.road atlanta, p2, petit le mans