Mosport: Series Michelin Green X recap

RELIABLE AND EFFICIENT AT MOSPORT Acura will go down in the history books as the first manufacturer to win a championship in the MICHELIN® GREEN X® Challenge. As the checkered flag fell on Mobil 1 presents the Grand Prix...


Acura will go down in the history books as the first manufacturer to win a championship in the MICHELIN® GREEN X® Challenge. As the checkered flag fell on Mobil 1 presents the Grand Prix of Mosport, the American Le Mans Series recognized first-time LMP "green racing" winners from Patron Highcroft Racing with its Acura ARX-02a and Corvette Racing's No. 4 Corvette C6.R.

With a great championship battle in focus, the MICHELIN® GREEN X® Challenge continues to crown the teams and manufacturers that demonstrate reliability, precision and efficiency on the racetrack.


Following the Mosport round, the LMP Manufacturers title battle is complete. Acura has secured the championship trophyeven with two races to go in the season.

Claiming the past seven wins, Acura teams de Ferran Motorsports, Lowe's Fernandez Racing and Patron Highcroft Racing displayed their overall performance and superior sustainability while on track throughout the season. Earning 97 points, Acura is the LMP leader, with AER in second (171 points) and Mazda in third (175 points).

For the GT category, Corvette Racing has won the last three consecutive MICHELIN® GREEN X® Challenge awardsfor a total of four in 2009. Porsche, however, remains in the lead with manufacturers points - claiming 108 over Chevrolet's 139 points. Due to the consistency factor, Porsche has continuously claimed top positions in each round of the American Le Mans Series, even though in the team standings it has only claimed three overall GT awards with Flying Lizard Motorsports and Farnbacher Loles.


In their dauntless pursuit, David Brabham and co-pilot Scott Sharp won their second consecutive overall race for 2009 and their first MICHELIN® GREEN X® Challenge accolade. Running on Michelin tires and E10, Brabham and Sharp were victorious over seven other LMP teams at Mosport. Despite Patron Highcroft's win, the team remains in second place in the team standings with 102 points, only five points away from leading Acura Lowe's Fernandez Racing. The third place team is the third and final Acura entry of de Ferran Motorsports with 111 points.

Corvette Racing claimed its fourth 2009 MICHELIN® GREEN X® Challenge award in the GT category; however, it was the first for the No. 4 Chevrolet Corvette C6.R driven by Olivier Beretta and Oliver Gavin. Their No. 3 sister car won at Sebring, Mid-Ohio and Road America. This triumph moves the No. 4 entry into sixth place with 151 points. The top three GT leaders include: No. 45 Flying Lizard Porsche with 106 points, No. 87 Farnbacher Loles Porsche with 130 points and No. 44 Flying Lizard Porsche with 138 points.


The changing track conditions and unpredictable weather did not make a win at Mobil 1 presents the Grand Prix of Mosport an easy undertaking. As rain showers and sunshine seemed to overtake each other every other minute, the two-hour and 45-minute race proved to be an exciting and strategic battle to the finish.

Acura and Corvette heroically claimed leading positions in the race - Patron Highcroft Acura in LMP1, Lowe's Fernandez Acura in LMP2, and Corvette Racing (No. 3) in GT2. The victory for Lowe's Fernandez Racing was pivotal as it secured the team's first American Le Mans Series' championship; the win for the No. 3 Corvette Racing was also monumental as it was the team's first victory for the new GT2 Corvette.


The revolutionary 'race-within-a-race' rewards all Series manufacturers and teams on their overall performance, fuel efficiency and environmental impact at each event. Points are awarded to teams in either the LMP or GT categories. Each team will start with a maximum of 225 points in 2009. When teams win, points are deducted. The successful teams will therefore have fewer points.

-credit: alms

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series ALMS
Drivers David Brabham , Scott Sharp , Oliver Gavin , Olivier Beretta
Teams Corvette Racing , Flying Lizard Motorsports