Extreme Speed Motorsports Sebring Thursday report

Extreme Speed Motorsports


#01 Extreme Speed Motorsports Ferrari F458 Italia: Scott Sharp, Johannes van Overbeek
#01 Extreme Speed Motorsports Ferrari F458 Italia: Scott Sharp, Johannes van Overbeek

Photo by: Mike Geng

SEBRING, FL – March 15, 2012 – Extreme Speed Motorsports kicked off their challenge against the world’s best GT sportcars teams in Sebring today as preparations for the opening round of the World Endurance Championship and the American Le Mans Series Presented by Tequila Patrón began.

The Extreme Speed Motorsports participated in all three test sessions during Thursday’s first full day of on-track activity. Continuous improvement was the mantra of the day as the team steadily improved speed and lap times in preparation of Friday’s qualifying session and the main event on Saturday.

The all-American driver line-up of Scott Sharp, Ed Brown, Johannes van Overbeek, Guy Cosmo, Jeff Segal and Anthony Lazzaro made their mark on the competition today. The Tequila Patrón Ferrari Italia 458s battled their way through two daytime sessions and one evening session that were filled with red and yellow flags and a competitive field of more than 60 cars.

The ESM all-American driver line-up features Sharp, van Overbeek and Cosmo in the No. 01 Tequila Patrón Ferrari, and Brown, Segal and Lazzaro in No. 02 ESM Tequila Patrón Ferrari.

After struggling during the opening practice rounds, the ESM team was able to make continuous improvements in their positions on the timing sheets – the No. 01 finishing fifth fastest in the evening session, while the No. 02 was 10th fastest.

The team has one final practice session on Friday morning to make last minute adjustments, changes and fine tuning to the Ferrari Italia 458s. Qualifying for the 12 Hours of Sebring takes place on Friday afternoon beginning at 3:20pm. Green flag for the 60th Annual Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring Fueled by Fresh from Florida is on Saturday, March 17, at 10:30am.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series ALMS
Drivers Scott Sharp , Guy Cosmo , Anthony Lazzaro , Johannes van Overbeek , Jeff Segal , Ed Brown
Teams ESM Racing
Tags alms, brown, cosmo, esp, ferrari, lazzaro, segal, sharp, van overbeek