ESM Patron adds Brabham and Lazzaro for Sebring 12 Hours

ESM Patron adds the two veteran drivers to their P2 effort.

STUART, Fla. – Friday, March 1, 2013 – Extreme Speed Motorsports (ESM) approaches the 2013 American Le Mans Series (ALMS) presented by Tequila Patrón season with an arsenal of new elements – cars, liveries and driver lineup.

In mid-February, ESM announced it will campaign two purpose-built Honda Performance Development (HPD) ARX-03b prototypes beginning with the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring Fueled by Fresh from Florida in March.

Anthony Lazzaro
Anthony Lazzaro

Photo by: Eric Gilbert

Now ESM, in accordance with IMSA driver classification rules, makes a driver lineup change for the season.

ESM driver/owner Scott Sharp remains behind the wheel of the No. 01 Tequila Patrón HPD ARX-03b and will share driving duties with Guy Cosmo, a 2005 ALMS P2 race-winner in a Mazda-powered prototype. Johannes van Overbeek, who celebrated his 100th ALMS start in 2012, joins Ed Brown in the No. 02 Tequila Patrón HPD ARX-03b.

David Brabham and Anthony Lazzaro have been added to ESM’s driver roster for the Sebring race in mid-March.

ALMS and 24 Hours of Le Mans champion Brabham joins Sharp and Cosmo aboard the No. 01 machine. Brabham re-teams with Sharp and Tequila Patrón for the first time since the 2009 ALMS P1 championship season where they finished fifth during the Sebring event.

Lazzaro, the 1999 24 Hours of Daytona winner, teams with van Overbeek and Brown in the No. 02 sister car. Lazzaro competed with ESM at Sebring International Raceway and Road Atlanta last season where the No. 02 Ferrari F458 Italia finished ninth in both races. The last time Lazzaro competed in a P2-style race car was in 2002 where he won the 24 Hours of Daytona piloting the SRP2, a sports racing prototype.

The 2013 American Le Mans Series presented by Tequila Patrón begins with the 61st Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring Fueled by Fresh from Florida on March 11-16. Qualifying takes place on Friday, March 15, at 2:20 p.m. Green flag for the 12 Hours of Sebring is at 10:45 a.m. ET on Saturday, March 16.

Extreme Speed Motorsports

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series ALMS
Drivers David Brabham , Scott Sharp , Guy Cosmo , Anthony Lazzaro , Johannes van Overbeek , Eric Gilbert , Ed Brown
Teams ESM Racing
Article type Breaking news
Tags alms, brabham, esm, extreme speed motorsports, featured, honda, hpd, lazzaro, patron, sebring, sharp