United Autosports to make debut at Road Atlanta

United Autosports press release

INDIANAPOLIS / LONDON: August 19, 2011 – United Autosports announced today it will debut an OAK RACING Pescarolo-Judd LMP2 car with technical support provided by DAMS (Driot-Associés MotorSport) in the LMP2 Class during the legendary Petit Le Mans at Road Atlanta, Sept. 28-Oct. 1. The grueling 1,000-mile, 10-hour race spectacle serves as the penultimate round of the 2011 Intercontinental Le Mans Cup in the American Le Mans Series.

Zak Brown, Johnny Herbert, Stefan Johansson, Richard Dean
Zak Brown, Johnny Herbert, Stefan Johansson, Richard Dean

Photo by: Lucien Harmegnies

Co-owners Zak Brown (USA) and Richard Dean (GB) expect United Autosports to be a major contender in LMP2 at Road Atlanta and have assembled a formidable driver line up. Brown will be accompanied by FIA GT3 European Championship regular Mark Patterson (USA), who will also be making his LMP2 debut. The American duo of Brown and Patterson teamed up earlier in the year with former GP drivers and 24 Hours of Le Mans winners Mark Blundell (GB) and Martin Brundle (GB) to earn fourth place in the 24 Hours of Daytona. Former F1 driver and 24 Hours of Le Mans race winner Stefan Johansson (SE) will round out the trio of talent as United Autosports sets their sights on the Petit Le Mans podium.

“Road Atlanta is a legendary track and this year’s entrants are top-shelf; I speak for all of the United Autosports drivers when I say that we are thrilled to be a part of this field and eager to get out there and run against some of the top Le Mans Prototype teams in the world,” said United Autosports co-owner Richard Dean. “This is a prime opportunity for us because ultimately it’s our goal to get to the 24 Hours of Le Mans, so we are looking forward to going out there and shaking this field up a little bit.”

United Autosports will be part of the largest and most elite field ever at Petit Le Mans which covers a maximum of 1,000 miles (1,600 km) (which is approximately 394 laps) or a maximum of 10 hours, whichever comes first. Class winners of this event receive an automatic invitation to the following year's 24 Hours of Le Mans.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series ALMS
Drivers Johnny Herbert , Stefan Johansson , Mark Blundell , Martin Brundle , Mark Patterson , Richard Dean , Zak Brown
Teams DAMS
Tags brown, dean, judd, oak racing, patterson, pescarolo