2013 Petit Le Mans: 37 teams on entry list for the season finale

Not all the drivers for the 2013 Petit Le Mans have been named.

The American Le Mans Series (ALMS) was formed by Dr. Don Panoz in an agreement with the Automobile Club de l'Ouest (ACO) in 1999. However, the first Petit Le Mans event at Road Atlanta in 1998, and has been one of the crown jewels for the series.

This year, the event that kicked-off the idea of the series will also see it come to an end as the ALMS and GRAND-AM will are merging into one series under IMSA - United SportsCar Championship (USCC)

For the ALMS finale, 37 teams have signed on to take on the challenge with the majority being the usual ALMS teams. Once again the Rebellion team will cross the pond to contest the 10-hour or 1,000 mile Petit Le Mans.

The Swiss team won the Petit event last year, and they aim to make it two-in-a-row with drivers Neel Jani, Nick Heidfeld and Nicolas Prost in their Lola Toyota. They will be challenging the 2013 P1 championship team from Pickett Racing. Klaus Graf and Lucas Luhr will be joined by Romain Dumas in their Muscle Milk HPD powered by Honda.

Dyson Racing would like to close out with the overall victory also with both their Lola Mazda P1 cars. DeltaWing is also listed as a P1 so they two will hope for a good finish in their last race.

In the P2 classification, Extreme Speed Motorsports and Level 5 Motorsports will again challenge one another in their HPD-Honda prototypes.

The GT class is truly one to watch as the recently crowned team champions, Corvette, will again be challenged by BMW, Ferrari, Porsche, and Viper teams. Never a dull moment in the GT on-track battles.

The GTC Porsche 911 GT3 Cup class also will thrill the fans with their tight door-to-door racing.

There will be one new entry in the Prototype Challenge as 8Star Motorsports has signed on. Expect to see eight ORECA FLM09s.

Several teams have yet to name their full driver line-up but earlier today, Scott Sharp announced that Rob Bell and David Brown will join his Extreme Speed team.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series ALMS
Drivers Nick Heidfeld , Klaus Graf , Scott Sharp , Lucas Luhr , Rob Bell , Don Panoz , David Brown , Romain Dumas , Neel Jani , Nicolas Prost
Teams ESM Racing , Dyson Racing
Article type Breaking news
Tags alsm, bmw, corvette, deltawing, ferrari, finale, hpd, lola, mazda, muscle milk, oreca, petit le mans, porsche, rebellion, toyota, viper