Tanner Foust leads Global Rallycross qualifying in Loudon

Eric Mauk

The Global Rallycross Championship gets back to business this weekend at Loudon, New Hampshire after a trying X Games event that featured serious injuries to points leader Marcus Gronholm as well as Toomas Heikinnen.

If the series was gun-shy after the injuries, it didn’t show in the course layout set before the field, which features a 70-foot gap jump as well as the season’s first gravel section and another tabletop jump.

Tanner Foust set the pace in Friday night’s qualifying session, getting around the tricky course in 39.203 seconds to claim the top seed for tonight’s four-lap heats that grant passage into the final.

Tanner Foust set fast time in the Global Rallycross Championship (GRC) qualifying session Friday night at New Hampshire Motor Speedway in Loudon followed closely by Ken Block and Travis Pastrana.

“It was really kind of a fun lap,” said series points leader Foust. “I took it fairly easy on the jump, gave myself plenty of time to get the speed down for tonight. Maybe push a little bit harder in the race. Olsbergs OMSE set up their Rockstar Fiesta so that I could go flat over the tabletop, which a lot of guys couldn’t do without breaking their cars, and that gave me a lot of extra time.”

The trying course claimed a trip of victims in the practice session alone as Ken Block suffered a hard crash on a day when he finished second of the charts, while Andy Scott and Travis Pastrana broke their cars after coming up short on the gap jump.

“The course is absolutely awesome,” said Pastrana. “It’s the most challenging course we’ve had out here at GRC. It is going to be difficult to pass. There are a lot of technical obstacles. On the first lap I broke my car because I went all the way to flat on the jump. I broke the car, but we were able to make it across the finish line with a broken driveshaft and a tire pulled under. We ended up third qualifying even with all of that, but I think we have a good car for the race.”

Foust (USA) will lead Stephan Verdier (France), David Binks (UK) and Sverre Isachsen (Norway) in Heat A. Block (USA) will lead Brian Deegan (USA), Dave Mirra (USA), Pat Moro (USA) and Andy Scott (UK) in Heat B. Pastrana (USA) will lead Samuel Hubinette (USA), Liam Doran (UK), Richard Burton (Canada) and Bucky Lasek (USA) in Heat C.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Global Rallycross
Drivers Marcus Gronholm , Travis Pastrana , Ken Block , Bucky Lasek , Dave Mirra , Tanner Foust , Richard Burton , Brian Deegan , Samuel Hubinette , Liam Doran , Sverre Isachsen , Andy Scott , David Binks , Stephan Verdier , Pat Moro
Article type Qualifying report
Tags block, featured, foust, global rally, loudon, mauk, pastrana