On Pomona finale Line clinches second in championship

Pomona, Calif. – Jason Line drove the Summit Racing Chevrolet Camaro into the second round of today’s 48th annual Automobile Club of Southern California here at Auto Club Raceway to clinch the runner-up spot in the 2012 NHRA Full Throttle Pro Stock championship standings.

Jason Line
Jason Line

Photo by: Michael C. Johnson

The two-time, including 2011, NHRA Full Throttle Pro Stock champ qualified the Summit Racing Chevrolet Camaro first for this weekend’s event, then defeated Roger Brogdon in today’s opening opening round with a then track record lap of 6.513 seconds at 213.06 miles per hour.

An even quicker and faster pass at track-record numbers of 6.495 seconds at 213.13 mph in round two went for naught as Vincent Nobile parlayed a .066-starting line advantage for the “hole-shot” victory.

“The guys on the Summit Racing/KB Racing team have done a great job and we’ve got a great race car,” reflected Line who had two wins in six final rounds, as well as nine no. 1 qualifiers this year.

“But I’m glad the year is over. It was a disappointing season, probably the worst we’ve had and we still finished second.

In the nine years we’ve been doing this, we’ve never been worse than second, one of us (either he or Summit Racing teammate and four-time champion Greg Anderson).

“Hats off to (champion) Allen Johnson; he did a great job and they deserve the win.”

Despite the disappointment, Line looks optimistically towards the 2013 season.

“The Summit Racing Camaro is a great race car and it’s way better than it was when we first brought it out (in July),” he explained. “I think we definitely made a lot of progress – it just took us a little while to figure out what it wanted.

“Our goal for 2013 is to continue to make this kind of progress; to go out there and be faster than the other guys; that’s what we’re paid to do.”

2012 NHRA Full Throttle Pro Stock Standings

1. Allen Johnson, 2756
2. Jason Line, 2571
3. Vincent Nobile, 2512
4. Erica Enders, 2507
5. Greg Anderson, 2365
6. Mike Edwards, 2347
7. V. Gaines, 2324
8. Ron Krisher, 2290
9. Jeg Coughlin, 2271
10. Larry Morgan, 2198

Summit Racing

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NHRA
Drivers Jeg Coughlin , Greg Anderson , Ron Krisher , Larry Morgan , Allen Johnson , Jason Line , Mike Edwards , Vincent Nobile
Article type Race report
Tags auto club raceway, camaro, chevrolet, finale, line, nhra, pomona