DSR dominates drag racing on AARWBA 2012 All-America team

The American Auto Racing Writers & Broadcasters Association made their selection for the drivers who competed in an American-based series. Antron Brown and Jack Beckman led the list of the of NHRA choices.

BROWNSBURG, Ind. (Dec. 20, 2012) - NHRA world champions Antron Brown and Jack Beckman led a sweep of drag racing honors for Don Schumacher Racing on the American Auto Racing Writers & Broadcasters Association's 2012 All-America Team.

Antron Brown
Antron Brown

Photo by: NHRA

Antron's Matco Tools team won six NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series national event titles while Jack's Valvoline NextGen/Schumacher Electric Dodge Charger R/T won three titles during the 2012 season. Each driver also set NHRA national elapsed time records that helped propel them to prestigious world championships.

DSR drivers also claimed both drag racing spots on AARWBA's Second Team.

Seven-time Top Fuel world champion Tony Schumacher, who made a miraculous charge at the season-finale but finished seven points behind Antron, was a second-team pick along with Ron Capps and the NAPA AUTO PARTS Dodge that fell a mere two points behind Jack in the final standings after winning a category-best five races.

Tony has been selected for first-team seven times and won the Jerry Titus Memorial Trophy for Driver of the Year in 2006 and 2008. The Titus award winner for 2012 has not been announced.

AARWBA members vote on drivers within their respective racing categories.

Other first-team members are: Ryan Hunter-Reay and Will Power, Open Wheel; Brad Keselowski and Jimmie Johnson, Stock Car; James Buescher and the team of Emil Assentato and Jeff Segal, Touring; teams of Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas, and Klaus Graf and Lucas Luhr, Road Racing; Bryan Clauson and Donny Schatz, short track; and Johnny O'Connell and Tristan Vautier, at-large.

Joining Schumacher and Capps on the second team are: Dario Franchitti and Scott Dixon/Helio Castroneves (tie), Open Wheel; Chris Dyson/Guy Smith (team) and Ryan Dalziel, Road Racing; Bobby East and Darrell Lanigan, Short Track; Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Clint Bowyer, Stock Car; Ricky Johnson and Oliver Gavin/Tommy Milner, Touring Series; and Jimmy Owens and drag racer Frank Manzo, At Large.

Don Schumacher Racing

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NHRA
Drivers Antron Brown , Ron Capps , Tony Schumacher , Ryan Dalziel , Guy Smith , Klaus Graf , Helio Castroneves , Dario Franchitti , Scott Dixon , Johnny O'Connell , Scott Pruett , Jimmie Johnson , Emil Assentato , Lucas Luhr , Oliver Gavin , Ryan Hunter-Reay , Donny Schatz , Frank Manzo , Memo Rojas , Jack Beckman , Bobby East , Clint Bowyer , Jeff Segal , Will Power , Brad Keselowski , Don Schumacher , Tommy Milner , Bryan Clauson , Ricky Stenhouse Jr. , Chris Dyson , James Buescher , Ricky Johnson , Tristan Vautier , Jimmy Owens
Article type Breaking news
Tags beckman, brown, capps, don schumacher racing, schumacher