Chevrolet clinches Cup Series Manufacturers’ Championship

2012 Title is the 10th Consecutive and 36th Overall for the Bowtie Brand

Jimmie Johnson’s victory in the TUMS Fast Relief 500 at Martinsville Speedway clinched the 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Manufacturers’ Championship for Chevrolet. It is the 10th consecutive year, and the 36th time overall that the Bowtie Brand has captured the prestigious title in NASCAR’s top series.

Race winner Jimmie Johnson, Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
Race winner Jimmie Johnson, Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet

Photo by: Action Sports Photography

"Chevrolet is truly honored to win the 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Manufacturers' Championship for the 10th consecutive year and the 36th time overall,” said Jim Campbell, U.S. Vice President, Performance Vehicles and Motorsports. “This award is the result of a relentless effort by the Chevrolet team owners, drivers, crew chiefs, crews and technical partners. Many laps remain to be run in the balance of 2012. Chevrolet and the teams remain committed to a strong finish."

In the 33 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races run to-date in 2012, Chevrolet drivers have captured 12 victories. Chevrolet won its first Manufacturers’ Cup in 1958, and now with the 2012 Cup secured, Chevrolet has reached an unprecedented 36th title.

"Winning Chevrolet's 36th NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Manufacturers' Championship has been a dedicated effort of focus and cooperation by our teams, technical partners and Chevrolet's engineers,” added Pat Suhy, Chevrolet Racing NASCAR Group Manager. “Everyone associated with Team Chevy in the Sprint Cup Series has worked tirelessly throughout the season to meet the challenges, and to give our drivers race cars that are competitive and reliable. Thank you to everyone whose passion has brought this award to Chevrolet."

The Team Chevy drivers that have contributed manufacturers’ points that resulted in the title for Chevrolet are: Jimmie Johnson (four wins); Tony Stewart (three wins); Kasey Kahne (two wins); Dale Earnhardt, Jr. (one win); Jeff Gordon (one win); Ryan Newman (one win); Kevin Harvick; Paul Menard and Jamie McMurray.

"I would like to offer my sincere congratulations to our teams, drivers and technical partners on winning the 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Manufacturers' Championship for Chevrolet for the 36th time,” said Alba Colon, Chevrolet Racing Program Manager, NASCAR Sprint Cup Series. “The spirit of cooperation among all of our teams is extraordinary, and has allowed us to give them the right tools to be competitors on the track, as well as partners for the benefit of Chevrolet. To achieve this accomplishment 10 consecutive years is a remarkable feat with the level of competition in the Sprint Cup Series."

With three races remaining in the 2012 season, Jimmie Johnson is the current points leader and Kasey Kahne sits fourth in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup standings. Other Team Chevy Chase drivers current ranking in the top-12 point standings: Jeff Gordon – sixth; Tony Stewart – 10th; Kevin Harvick – 11th and Dale Earnhardt, Jr. – 12th.

Source: Team Chevy Racing

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Cup
Drivers Dale Earnhardt , Jeff Gordon , Tony Stewart , Kevin Harvick , Ryan Newman , Jimmie Johnson , Jamie McMurray , Kasey Kahne , Paul Menard , Jim Campbell
Teams Hendrick Motorsports
Article type Special feature
Tags bowtie, campbell, chevrolet, hendrick, johnson, manufacturer, nascar