Audi trio are crowned world champions while Toyota wins in China

Toyota Racing utterly dominated today’s 6 Hours of Shanghai, the eighth and final round of the 2012 FIA World Endurance Championship.

Alex Wurz and Nicolas Lapierre finished a lap ahead of the No.2 Audi R18 e-tron quattro of Allan McNish and Tom Kristensen having led the way from the start.

Podium: third place Marcel Fässler, Benoit Tréluyer, Andre Lotterer
Podium: third place Marcel Fässler, Benoit Tréluyer, Andre Lotterer

Photo by: Audi Communications Motorsport

However, it was also a day of celebration and smiles in the Audi garage. By crossing the finish line in third place, André Lotterer, Benoît Tréluyer and Marcel Fässler scored enough points to capture the World Drivers’ Championship – the first for this new FIA championship.

The trio made history in June by becoming the first hybrid powered car to win the 24 Hours of Le Mans, and followed this with two further wins at the 6 Hours of Silverstone and 6 Hours of Bahrain.

The No.7 Toyota TS030 Hybrid’s victory in China was its third of the season, and the result confirms a remarkable debut season for the Japanese manufacturer.

In just six races they have secured three wins, and raised the bar in terms of performance – 2013 already promises to be even more exciting! Just as Toyota today had a faultless race, so did Audi and nothing should be taken away from their 2012 season, as demonstrated by them sealing the LMP1 Manufacturers’ World Championship title as early as August.

While there was laughter and champagne at one end of the pit lane, there was heartbreak and tears at the other. LMP1 Privateer champions Rebellion Racing were on course to finish fourth overall with their No.12 Lola-Toyota entry of Nicolas Prost and Neel Jani, the duo having taken the lead after the third lap of the race.

Instead, there was dismay as the car ground to a halt with just eight minutes of the race to run and Prost and Jani had to watch a third place overall in the Drivers’ Championship slip through their fingers.

There was some consolation for the Swiss team as their second, No.13 entry was promoted to first among the Private teams, the only Chinese driver in the field Cong Fu ‘Frankie’ Cheng standing proudly on the podium alongside his team mates Andrea Belicchi and Harold Primat.

Behind them were the two HPD ARX 03a Hondas of JRM and Strakka Racing. JRM’s Karun Chandhok, David Brabham and Peter Dumbreck recovered from contact which meant the rear bodywork of the HPD had to be replaced during a pit stop, and they were just 8 seconds behind the Rebellion Lola at the chequered flag.

Strakka’s Nick Leventis, Danny Watts and Jonny Kane were a further three laps back after a faltering race.

The No.25 ADR-Delta team took their second consecutive victory and their fourth of the year – a huge achievement for the small, privately-funded British team which vaulted them ahead of Pecom Racing into second place in the final classification for the FIA Endurance Trophy for LMP2 teams.

ADR’s driver line up of Tor Graves and John Martin, joined in Shanghai by Matthias Beche, took control of the class early in the race and had a steady run to the finish.

Behind them were the No.44 Starworks Motorsport HPD ARX 03b, the class champions, and the No.24 OAK Racing Morgan Nissan, both of which overcame minor issues to finish on the podium.

Source: FIA WEC

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WEC
Drivers Andre Lotterer , David Brabham , Tom Kristensen , Allan McNish , Alexander Wurz , Marcel Fassler , Peter Dumbreck , Harold Primat , Jonny Kane , Benoit Tréluyer , Tor Graves , Karun Chandhok , Neel Jani , Nicolas Lapierre , John Martin , Nicolas Prost , Andrea Belicchi , Nick Leventis , Danny Watts
Teams Nissan Motorsport , Rebellion Racing , Toyota Racing , OAK Racing , Pecom Racing , Strakka Racing , JRM Racing
Article type Race report
Tags 6 hours of shanghai, china, kristensen, lapierre, mcnish, toyota ts030 hybrid, wec, wurz