2011 calendar

To mark the occasion of the last meeting of the 2010 season, the World Series by Renault Organizing Committee unveiled the provisional 2011 calendar, along with the changes to the sporting regulations for the year ahead.

2011 will see no fewer than seven World Series by Renault meeting on the programme. In its seventh season of 100% Renault race meetings, which have played host to nearly 4,000,000 spectators over the years, WSR is set to return to some of Europe's top circuits.

The start of the 2011 season will be signalled by April's meeting at Motorland Aragon. There follows a tour of Formula 1 circuits, first of which is Spa-Francorchamps and its celebrated Raidillon. Next, the World Series by Renault heads for Nurburgring in June before moving on to Budapest and Silverstone. The French round will take place next September at the Paul Ricard HTTT circuit which welcomes the World Series by Renault for the first time. The final will take place at Barcelona in September.

Formula Renault 3.5 Series will also pay a visit to Monza** in May, before heading to Monaco as the curtain-raiser for the most prestigious F1 Grand Prix of the year. This addition to the calendar is awaiting confirmation by the FIA.

From a sporting point of view, Formula Renault 3.5 Series, Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 and Eurocup Megane Trophy will adopt the points system specified by the FIA for world championships. The first ten drivers will be awarded points as follows: 25, 18, 15, 12, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2 et 1.

In Formula Renault 3.5 Series, the sporting regulations will remain unchanged in 2011 for the last year of racing with the existing version of Formula Renault 3.5, Renault Sport Technologies having confirmed the projected launch of a new single-seater for the 2012 season. Each race day will consist of one qualifying session and one race, with exception of Monaco where a single race is planned.

In Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0, the format will change to mirror that of Formula Renault 3.5 Series with one qualifying session and one race each day. The races will last 25 minutes plus one lap. The winner will once again be given a purse of 500,000 towards participation in Formula Renault 3.5 Series in 2012.

Finally, in Eurocup Megane Trophy, the two qualifying session will take place on the Saturday. The first race will take place on the Saturday and the second on the Sunday.

-source: renault sport