P1 Motorsport driver Giedo Van der Garde has won the 2008 World Series by Renault Championship. Having the led from the first weekend of the season in Monza, Van der Garde dominated the year and seemingly always had an answer for his rivals. Wrapping up the championship at the penultimate race of the season in Estoril, both team and driver deservedly celebrated their achievements in P1 Motorsport's debut season in the championship.

Van der Garde needed just a couple of points in order to take the Formula Renault 3.5 title in Portugal, however as soon as the race got underway, the Dutchman was informed over the radio that his only championship rival - Fabio Carbone (Ultimate Signature) - was out of the race. Regardless of where he finished, Van der Garde would take the title - even with three races to go, nobody could catch him.

However, Van der Garde kept his head and remained focused on the race. The P1 crew executed a faultless pitstop, and the Dutchman re-joined the race in seventh position. Under pressure from Ultimate Signature driver Esteban Guerrieri, the new champion conceded his position to the Brazilian, accepting eighth place and three more championship points.

Van der Garde crossed the line applauded by his team on the pitwall, and parked up outside the teams garage in front of a banner held by his family and friends. Speaking about the achievement, Van der Garde said, "The race wasn't easy and we were struggling for pace, but I knew I had the title and so just wanted to bring the car home. It feels great to finally be here and I'm delighted to have won the championship."

Commenting on the year, he said, "The team worked really hard in preparation for the start of the season, and it really showed when we arrived in Monza. We had the perfect start, but gradually the other teams began to catch us around Silverstone and Hungary. However the team worked super hard over the summer break and we came back strong at Nurburgring. We deserve to be in this position - we led from the start and I'm thankful to everyone who has been involved this season."

-credit: p1