Lakeside: Race report

Pittman bursts into victory column at Lakeside, KANSAS CITY, KS (June 21) -- It was only a matter of time before Daryn Pittman won his first "A" Feature of the O'Reilly World of Outlaws Series' 25th Anniversary Season. Pittman received the ...

Pittman bursts into victory column at Lakeside,

KANSAS CITY, KS (June 21) -- It was only a matter of time before Daryn Pittman won his first "A" Feature of the O'Reilly World of Outlaws Series' 25th Anniversary Season.

Pittman received the Manufacturers Hard Charger award in 2002 for winning six "A" Features while racing only a partial schedule. The Owasso, OK, driver, who won his first Dash Race and led his first 10 laps in a 2003 "A" Feature Friday, won his first main event of the year 24 hours later at Lakeside Speedway. Pittman, who led all 30 laps from the pole, became the 14th driver to win an O'Reilly World of Outlaws Series "A" Feature this season.

"It's been a long time," said Pittman, who last won a main event in October of 2002. "The SCN (Sprint Car Network) guys reminded me again today that last night was the first dash I've won all year, and I knew we hadn't been starting up front. But I love Joplin, and I love this place, and to get out of here with a first and a second is pretty good."

Pittman, the third-fastest qualifier in the 37-car field, earned the privilege of starting the "A" Feature on the pole by winning the First Dash Race.

Aaron Berryhill and Rich Bubak collided in the fourth corner as the green flag fell in the O'Reilly World of Outlaws Series' 31st main event of the season. They collected Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year candidate Jason Sides, and all three restarted at the rear of the field.

Pittman drove Sher-Don Motorsports' #21 Hop & Sack J&J into the lead as the green flag replaced the yellow. Sammy Swindell, who has won three "A" Features at Lakeside Speedway, exchanged fourth place with Kraig Kinser twice in the first four laps.

Jason Meyers, who passed Kinser and front-row starter Donny Schatz for second place early, was 15 car-lengths behind when Pittman entered lapped traffic during lap seven.

Swindell passed Kinser again with an inside move between turns one and two early in the ninth lap. Kinser slide out of the inside groove in the first corner and dropped back to seventh place the next time around. Steve Kinser, who started outside the fifth row, steered his #11 Quaker State Maxim deep in turn four to pass O'Reilly World of Outlaws Series points leader Danny Lasoski for fifth place late in the 10th lap.

Meyers closed to within five car-lengths of Pittman in dense traffic two laps later. Steve Kinser passed Swindell for fourth place with an inside move between the first and second corners early in lap 12.

Pittman increased his advantage to 20 car-lengths midway through the race, and opened a half-lap lead during the 21st lap. Pittman maintained his comfortable advantage while racing through lapped traffic with ease during the final 10 laps.

Joe (Gaerte) and my guys Glenno (Ingliss) and Bingo (Eugene Jenkins) have been working really hard all year long," Pittman said. "They've stuck by me through the tough times, bad driving, bad cars, and everything in between. My car owner from Australia (Reeve Kruk) is here tonight, so I guess we just need to have an Aussie with us. They were here for all of the wins last year.

"Things got a little closer in traffic than I wanted them to be. I ran up on one car (Nick Smith). I thought I had plenty of room, but I almost ran right over him. The lapped cars did a great job holding their line, and it's the leader's job to get by them. You learn from guys like Steve (Kinser) and Danny (Lasoski) that you have to run as hard as you can all of the time. Anytime you slow down for anything, someone will be right behind you waiting to get by. I'm just glad to finally get a win, and with (wife) Mandy here it's all the more special."

Schatz finished in third place, head of Steve Kinser, Swindell, Lasoski, Joey Saldana, Kraig Kinser, Shane Stewart and Paul McMahan.

Tyler Walked paced the qualifying session with a 121.729-M.P.H. lap around the slightly-banked, ½-mile oval. The 2002 World of Outlaws Gumout Series champion finished 12th in the main event.

Jeremy Campbell raced past 12 cars in the "B" Feature to claim the next-to-last qualifying position in the "A" Feature. The 19-year-old driver from Monroe, MI, raced into 17th place from outside the 12th row in the main event.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series World of Outlaws
Drivers Danny Lasoski , Donny Schatz , Steve Kinser , Sammy Swindell , Aaron Berryhill , Daryn Pittman , Jason Meyers , Jason Sides , Joey Saldana , Kraig Kinser , Paul McMahan , Shane Stewart , Nick Smith