Knoxville Nationals non-qualifier report

HODNETT TAKES NON-QUALIFIERS FEATURE By Richard Day KNOXVILLE, IA (August 19) - The first three days of the 34th Annual Knoxville Nationals produced several significant firsts: Richard...

HODNETT TAKES NON-QUALIFIERS FEATURE By Richard Day KNOXVILLE, IA (August 19) - The first three days of the 34th Annual Knoxville Nationals produced several significant firsts: Richard Petty saw his first sprint race, Andy Hillenburg won his first feature at Knoxville Raceway, Jac Haudenschild won his first World of Outlaws feature race in almost two years, the Pole Position Scramble races were instituted and Greg Hodnett won the first Copenhagen-Skoal Shootout feature of his career. Hodnett, the 1993 World of Outlaws Rookie of the Year and a member of the Two Winners Racing team, won the Fourth Heat Race and started outside the second row. But as front-row starters Craig Dollansky and Eric Rossi exited the fourth corner as the green flag fell, Hodnett threaded the #8TW Kele & Associates Maxim between them and the three raced wheel-to-wheel down the front straightaway. Hodnett found the fast lane through turn two and took the lead as he entered the back stretch. Hodnett was a half-straightaway ahead of his closest pursuers when Third Heat Race winner Ed Lynch, Jr., passed Dollansky for the runner-up spot midway through the third lap. Undaunted by a fourth-lap caution period, Hodnett ran away from the field again while Dollansky and Lynch resumed their battle for second place when the green flag replaced the yellow. Hodnett caught the backmarkers with a half-straightaway lead, and maintained his comfortable advantage for much of the race's second half despite a 14th-lap caution. Dollansky was racing through the fourth corner when Hodnett took the checkered flag. Bobby Davis, Jr., won the Ecowater Pole Position Scramble from inside the second row and Fred Rahmer won the Snap-on Tools Pole Position Scramble from outside the front row. Johnny Herrera came from the back of the pack to finish third for the right to start Saturday's "B" Feature on the pole. Danny Lasoski raced around polesitter Dave Blaney and led all 12 laps in the Vivarin Pole Position Scramble. Steve Kinser, who tied Sammy Swindell for the qualifying points leadership, started last in the 10-car field, but had the #11 Valvoline Maxim in third place within two laps. Lasoski was a half-straightaway ahead of the field when Kinser out- dragged Blaney across the finish line to take over the runner-up spot at the end of lap four. "The Dude" entered lapped traffic three laps later, and took the checkered flag as "The King of the Outlaws" raced through the fourth corner. Kinser believed he had sewn up the pole position in Saturday's championship feature with the second-place finish until officials discovered that his #11 had lost its muffler during the race. Loss of a muffler constitutes disqualification, so Kinser was demoted to 10th in the Vivarin Pole Position Scramble and outside the second row in Saturday's main event lineup. With the other eight drivers in the field moving up a position, Blaney received credit for second place. He was followed across the finish line by Andy Hillenburg, Jeff Swindell, Jac Haudenschild, Sammy Swindell, Kenny Jacobs, Terry McCarl and Stevie Smith. Jeff drove the #7TW Gold Eagle Maxim past four sprinters from his fourth-row starting position and was rewarded with the pole position in Saturday's "A" Feature lineup. WoO 1994 WORLD OF OUTLAWS/COPENHAGEN-SKOAL SHOOTOUT 34th Annual Knoxville Nationals Knoxville Raceway, Knoxville, IA Friday, August 19, Non-Qualifiers/Pole Position Program First Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Craig Dollansky, 2. Terry Gray, 3. Rod Henderson, 4. John Hall ($80); 5. Todd Taeger, 6. Billy Bell, 7. Dave Ekern, 8. Bob Weuve, 9. Rich Bubak, 10. Earnest Jennings, 11. Ryan Jamison ($50); 12. Danny Smith. DNS - Dan Coggeshell. (first four qualified for the "A" Feature) Second Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Eric Rossi, 2. Tim Monson, 3. Joey Saldana, 4. Pete Butler, 5. Troy Parsons, 6. Larry Neighbors, 7. Butch Hanssen, 8. Blake Robertson, 9. J.R. Topper, 10. Manny Rockhold, 11. Mike Twedt. 2:20.0 (first four qualified for the "A" Feature) Third Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Ed Lynch, Jr., 2. Todd Ribick, 3. Marlon Jones, 4. Jim Melis, 5. Rick Montgomery, 6. Ricky Logan, 7. Dave Westercamp, 8. Shawna Wilskey, 9. Terry Pletch, 10. Chris Walraven, 11. Mark Finnell. DNS - Chad Radel, Don Droud, Jr. (first four qualified for the "A" Feature) Fourth Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Greg Hodnett, 2. Gary Dewall, 3. Peter Murphy, 4. Mike Hubert, Jr., 5. Van Gurley, Jr., 6. Kevin Frey, 7. Doran Doty, 8. Chuck Swenson, 9. Mike Chadd, 10. Larry Long. DNS - Greg Schaefer, Art Wendt. 2:18.7 (first four qualified for the "A" Feature) Fifth Heat Race (eight laps): 1. Shane Stewart, 2. Leonard Lee, 3. Chris Ikard, 4. Kenny Hansen, 5. Rod George, 6. Tony Edmonson, 7. Bob Thompson, 8. Lee Nelson, 9. Dennis Moore, Jr. ($50). DNS - George Austin III, Tim Baker, Jeff Rice. (first four qualified for the "A" Feature) C Feature (eight laps): 1. Rich Bubak, 2. J.R. Topper, 3. Manny Rockhold ($250); 4. Mike Chadd ($225); 5. Danny Smith ($200); 6. Chris Walraven ($190); 7. Mike Twedt ($180); 8. Terry Pletch ($170); 9. Mark Finnell ($160); 10. Larry Long ($150); 11. Earnest Jennings ($140). DNS - Dennis Moore, Jr., Ryan Jamison. (first two qualified for the "B" Feature) B Feature (12 laps): 1. Rod George, 2. Troy Parsons, 3. Butch Hanssen ($450); 4. Blake Robertson ($350); 5. Billy Bell ($285); 6. Larry Neighbors ($235); 7. Dave Westercamp ($200); 8. Doran Doty ($175); 9. Shawna Wilskey ($150); 10. J.R. Topper ($290); 11. Rich Bubak ($280); 12. Chuck Swenson ($120); 13. Ricky Logan ($120); 14. Van Gurley, Jr. ($120); 15. Todd Taeger ($120); 16. Tony Edmonson ($110); 17. Bob Thompson ($100); 18. Bob Weuve ($100); 19. Rick Montgomery ($120); 20. Kevin Frey ($110); 21. Dave Ekern ($100); 22. Lee Nelson ($100). (first two qualified for the "A" Feature) A Feature (20 laps): 1. Greg Hodnett ($2,125); 2. Craig Dollansky ($1,625); 3. Ed Lynch, Jr. ($1,425); 4. Tim Monson ($1,200); 5. Terry Gray ($1,000); 6. Shane Stewart ($785); 7. Eric Rossi ($675); 8. Gary Dewall ($540); 9. Pete Butler ($440); 10. Leonard Lee ($430); 11. Joey Saldana ($390); 12. Todd Ribick ($375); 13. Troy Parsons ($620); 14. Mike Hubert, Jr. ($330); 15. Jim Melis ($305); 16. Chris Ikard ($315); 17. Kenny Hansen ($280); 18. Marlon Jones ($290); 19. Peter Murphy ($290); 20. Rod Henderson ($290); 21. Rod George ($570). DNS - John Hall. Ecowater Pole Position Scramble (12 laps): 1. Bobby Davis, Jr. ($2,000); 2. Bob White ($1,000); 3. Brent Antill ($900); 4. Mike Peters ($800); 5. John Kearney ($700); 6. Ray Lipsey ($600); 7. Mike Reinke ($500); 8. Shane Carson ($400); 9. Jeff Tuttle ($300); 10. Garry Brazier ($250). 3:33.5 Snap-on Tools Pole Position Scramble (12 laps): 1. Fred Rahmer ($3,000); 2. Brooke Tatnell ($2,000); 3. Johnny Herrera ($1,000); 4. Frankie Kerr ($900); 5. Steve Kent ($800); 6. Lance Blevins ($700); 7. Tommie Estes, Jr. ($600); 8. Sid Blandford ($500); 9. Jim Carr ($400). DNS - Dale Blaney. 3:34.7 Vivarin Pole Position Scramble (12 laps): 1. Danny Lasoski ($5,000); 2. Dave Blaney ($4,000); 3. Andy Hillenburg ($3,000); 4. Jeff Swindell ($2,000); 5. Jac Haudenschild ($1,500); 6. Sammy Swindell ($1,000); 7. Kenny Jacobs ($900); 8. Terry McCarl ($800); 9. Stevie Smith ($700); 10. Steve Kinser ($600). *eof

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series WOO