The big banger Group C touring cars are coming back to town, with race fans in for a treat at the Shannons Historic Racing and Classic Car Festival at Queensland Raceway on July 26-27.

Two of Australia's motorsport greats will be united on the track, with legend Kevin Bartlett listed to compete in Allan Moffat's 1983 Australian Touring Car Championship winning Mazda RX7

Bartlett, a veteran of 45 years in motorsport will be behind the wheel of the first Japanese car, and the only rotary powered car to win the Australian Touring Car Championship.

Bartlett is a multiple Australian Drivers Champion, and won the Bathurst 1000 in a rain soaked 1974 race with John Goss.

Although the prospect of 'KB' hitting the track in anger again will have memories flooding back for spectators, 2004 will see Bartlett teamed up with his famous Channel Nine Camaro once again.

Also returning to the racetrack next season will be the Group A Touring Cars, which ruled the Australian motorsport scene from 1985 to 1992.

Cars that will be eligible to compete as historic racecars will include favourites such as Ford Sierras, Nissan Skylines, and Walkinshaw VL Commodores.

This year however at the Shannons Historic and Classic Car Festival, expect a strong field of Group C racers from around the nation, after their debut at Queensland Raceway last season.

While entries are still rolling in, some expected starters include XE Falcons, A9X Toranas, as well as a swarm of small capacity class cars.