Speed sweeps in final day of Brumos Continental Historics at Daytona.

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla., (Nov. 3, 2003) - Victory Lane at Daytona International Speedway was kept busy on Sunday during the final day of the Brumos Continental Historics.

Lake Speed, who retired from NASCAR Winston Cup Series competition in 1998, completed the sweep of both Historic Stock Car Racing Association races at the "World Center of Racing," leading all 10 laps of Sunday's race to claim victory over runner-up Charles Piazza and third-place finisher Gene Felton.

"I really didn't know how I would do. I wasn't sure," said Speed, who was driving a No. 83 Ford Thunderbird that he raced with in the early 1990s in the NASCAR Winston Cup Series. "The main thing wasn't to come and beat them. The whole deal for me was to be able to get in the car, go fast and work on myself."

Steve Cohen and Mike Borkowski teamed up in a 1992 Oldsmobile Aurora to claim a dominating victory in the Rolex Historic Enduro.

It was a blast from the past for Borkowski in the Rolex Historic Enduro as he was driving an Oldsmobile Aurora that claimed a GT1 class victory in the 1996 Rolex 24 At Daytona for Brix Racing. In the 1996 Rolex 24, Borkowski drove Brix Racing's other Oldsmobile Aurora.

"The car was really good," said Borkowski, who next year will be co-driving a Daytona Prototype for Brumos Racing in the Rolex 24 At Daytona. "This is just a great car. I drove this car six years ago in the Rolex 24. It was a little remising of the past."

In the Historic GTP/Thundersport feature, the driving team of Duncan Dayton and Aaron Hsu captured the win in a 1988 Porsche 962. The ex-Team Joest car, formerly driven by the late sports car racing legend Bob Wollek, was too much for the runner-up finisher Henry Camfardam and his 1990 Nissan.

"We seemed to be able to hustle the car a little better in the corners and in the infield," said Hsu, who started the race.

In Sunday's finale, the Rolex Classic GT Enduro, John Bourassa and Lance Stewart were victorious driving a 1973 Porsche 911.

Sports car racing isn't over yet at Daytona International Speedway. The Grand American Road Racing Series will pull into the Speedway for the Nov. 8-10 Dark Dog Grand American Finale. They'll get a jump on activities with test days on Wednesday, Nov. 6 and Thursday, Nov. 7, which are free and open to the public.

For more information and tickets, log on to www.daytonainternationalspeedway.com or call the Speedway ticket office at (386) 253-7223.

Sunday's Results

WorldCom Group 1: 1. Brian Johnson, 1970 Royale; 2. James Roberts, 1967 Austin Healey Sprite; 3. Maynard (Duke) Soares, 1972 Mallock Mk11.

WorldCom Group 2: 1. Bryan Berry, 1968 Porsche 911T; 2. Catgesby Jones, 1970 Porsche 914; 3. Mike Weiner, 1970 Porsche 914.

WorldCom Group 3: 1. Gary Jordan, 1969 Camaro; 2. Bill Murray, 1965 Cobra; 3. Bill Keith, 1973 Porsche 911.

WorldCom Group 4: 1. Donald Soenen, 1992 Mustang; 2. Jay Policastro, 1980 Porsche 935; 3. Chip Vanca, 1983 Porsche 935.

WorldCom Group 6: 1. Tony Seiniger, 1972 TOG; 2. Jim Oppenheimer, 1968 Lola T-70 111B; 3. Robert Machinist, 1972 Chevron B-21.

Historic GTP/Thundersport: 1. Aaron Hsu/Duncan Dayton, 1988 Porsche 962; 2. Henry Camferdam, 1990 Nissan R90C; 3. Dennis Spencer, 1993 Mazada Kudzu.

Historic Stock Car Feature Race 2: 1. Lake Speed, 1993 Ford Thunderbird; 2. Charles Piazza, 1990 Chevrolet Lumina; 3. Gene Felton, 1994 Pontiac Grand Prix.

Rolex Historic Enduro: 1. Steve Cohen/Mike Borkowski, 1992 Aurora; 2. Paul Reisman/John Reisman, 1980 Porsche 935; 3. Jacques Guenette, Hugo Guenett, 1982 Porsche 935.

Rolex Classic GT Enduro: 1. John Bourassa/Lance Stewart, 1973 Porsche 911; 2. Tim Vargo/Josh Vargo, 1972 Porsche 911; 3. Mike Defenbau, 1975 Porsche 911.