Utes: Series Townsville summary

Crambrook Cranks it to claim Round 5 of the V8 Ute Series in Townsville Defending Champion Layton Crambrook won Round 5 of the 2009 Yokohama V8 Ute Racing Series & ...

Crambrook Cranks it to claim Round 5 of the V8 Ute Series in Townsville

Defending Champion Layton Crambrook won Round 5 of the 2009 Yokohama V8 Ute Racing Series – protected by Armor All at the inaugural Townsville 400 event, Sunday, 12 July.

The hot shot got off to a good start after starting the race from Pole position and was followed closely by Jack Elsegood who came in third for the Race and the round.

By winning the round Crambrook has moved within 5 points of Series leader Elsegood who was disappointed with his round.

"If I hadn't stuffed up in the first race I would've been ok. It's a shame but I'll have to pull out a good round at Sandown," said Elsegood.

South Australian Gary Baxter was in a race of his own and claimed third for Race 3 and the Round.

There were some crazy battles going on back in the field – after a bump from Ryal Harris early in the Race, Grant Johnson was keen to get his place back and followed the young Queenslander closely but wasn't quick enough to claim fourth. Harris earned the wrath of the Stewards following the race and was fined $1,500 for moving over on Johnson at the race start.

Glenn McNally, Kurt Wimmer, Kim Jane, Charlie Kovacs and Stephen Robinson were all in a battle for the top ten spots and rounded it out for Race 3.

Black flags were also issued to Scott Jennings for turning around Craig Dontas, Nandi Kiss received one for hitting Greg Willis in lap 7 and Yanis Derums for bumping George Elliot who was in 14th position at the time.

The day got underway with some serious hiccups in Race 2. Racer Industries Rookie of the Year contender, Paul Williams started on Pole but was unlucky to be pushed out wide by Andrew Fisher, which caused the Brock Race Engineering driver to go straight into the wall at turn 12.

The incident caused a 5 car chain reaction eliminating championship hot shot George Miedecke for the weekend. Kim Jane and Brad Patton were also involved.

"It's going to need a lot of work but we'll get there."

"It's put me out of the championship as no-one can take two DNF's. It's unfortunate it happened on a weekend we were going to win but that's how it goes," said Miedecke.

Race officials looked long and hard at the incident and found that a deflating tyre on the Jesus All About Life ute caused the incident with no charges laid.

On the same corner Charlie Kovacs threw away the race lead after going wide into turn 1 on the second lap.

Special mention to Peter Burnitt in Race two who posted his best ever result a 16th overall.

Ben Kavich took out the SS Inductions Hard Charger Award and $500 for passing 11 Utes in Race 3.

Nandi Kiss claimed the CI Performance Hole Shot Award and $500 for the best race start in Race 3.

Craig Dontas won the Armor All Best Presented Award.

To catch all the highlights from Townsville 400 tune into Network Seven Saturday, 25th July at 1:30pm EST.

-credit: utes

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Supercars
Drivers Kurt Wimmer , Grant Johnson , Charlie Kovacs , Jack Elsegood , Layton Crambrook , Greg Willis , Andrew Fisher , Brad Patton
Teams Williams