Stone Brothers Racing Clean up at Awards Night

Stone Brothers Racing celebrated their fantastic V8 Supercar season by scooping the pool at tonight's gala dinner at the Gold Coast Convention Centre.

Marcos Ambrose was officially awarded his V8 Supercar Championship Series trophy, but was also awarded the Barry Sheene Medal as the "Best and Fairest" driver in the series for the second consecutive year.

SBR co-owner Ross Stone collected the trophy on behalf of his 40-strong outfit as the champion team for 2005.

Russell Ingall collected the runners-up trophy after his amazing effort in the final round last weekend when he jumped from fourth to second in the Caltex Falcon.

Ambrose was thrilled to walk away with the two most prestigious trophies on the night.

"I am honoured as a member of Pirtek Racing and the Stone Brothers Racing team to be V8 Supercar champion for the second time," said Ambrose.

"This trophy really is a symbol of all the hard work done by so many people over the last couple of years.

"The competition just gets tougher and tougher and I guess that's why this one probably means a little more to me than the first one.

"You just cannot afford to rest for the second in this business and there is not one member of the team as SBR that does not realise that.

"SBR is one of the best motor sport organisations in the world and I am proud to be a representative of the team on stage tonight.

"What means equally as much to me is my second Barry Sheene Medal. Barry was an enormously special person who touched all off us in one way or another and this trophy is about the spirit of the business."

The Barry Sheene medal is in memory of the two-time world motorcycle champion who made a home for himself in Australia and became a part of the V8 Supercar circus as a popular commentator for Network Ten.

The winner of the medal is decided by a panel of 14 which consists of former drivers, Network Ten commentators and the media. The provide 3-2-1 votes at all 13 rounds based on outstanding leadership, personality, fan appeal and sportsmanship.

While Ambrose was busy collecting trophies on the Gold Coast, he was also being rewarded for his efforts at the annual Confederation of Australian Motor Sports awards in Melbourne.

Ambrose was announced as "Motor Sport Personality of the Year" for the second time.

Ingall collected his fourth runners-up trophy and was more than happy to do so to his SBR team mate.

"There is no doubt that I am pretty good company up here with Marcos tonight," said Ingall.

"I don't think people realise just how much effort it takes to pull off a 1-2 finish in a championship of this calibre.

"The fact that it has only been done once before in this championship 11 years ago gives you a pretty good idea.

"While I say that, there is no reason why SBR cannot achieve the same feat next season, but I think it's about time Marcos got the smaller trophy.

"I have to thank Ross and Jimmy Stone and all the SBR boys for another magnificent season. I also have pay tribute to Ford, Caltex, Pirtek, Bosch and all our other sponsors who have gotten behind this program and become part of our success.

"Hopefully we can be back up on this stage again next season."

Champion Team of the Year: Stone Brothers Racing
Barry Sheene Medal: Marcos Ambrose