Round 13 SandownV8 Ultimate, VIC
30 November 2 December, 2001

Race 2 Report

Sunday, 12.45pm: Todd Kelly took a convincing win in the rain soaked second race of the Sandown V8 Ultimate meeting in Victoria today, leading home a Kmart Holden quinella with teammate, Greg Murphy in second place.

Smart pit strategy by the Kmart crew saw the two cars make their compulsory stops early in the race, allowing them to enjoy a comfortable run ahead of their rivals, with Kelly leading by as much as 19 seconds before eventually finishing with a 10.5 second advantage.

Craig Lowndes was the first Ford home in third, ahead of Shell Series champion, Mark Skaife. Marcos Ambrose was fifth in the Pirtek Falcon and Paul Radisich finished sixth in his Shell Helix Ford after a blinding start catapulted him forward from 20th on the grid.

Jason Bargwanna scored his best race result of the season in seventh ahead of Tickford Ford's Steven Richards. Team Kiwi's Jason Richards turned in a terrific wet weather drive to finish ninth in his Holden, an indication of the progress his fledgling team have made in their first season in the category.

Russell Ingall and Garth Tander were victims of the conditions, falling way back in the field after misted windscreens reduced their visibility to almost nothing. Steven Johnson put his Shell Ford in a strong position early before engine failure saw him park his car on lap 13 of 48.

Larry Perkins and Paul Romano didn't even get through the first corner before a four car collision had their Holdens back in the garages for repairs.

Kelly's second race win in the Shell Series, following his reverse grid triumph in Canberra, puts him on pole for this afternoon's third race, the final battle for the V8 Supercars in 2001.


Race 2 Top Ten 1. TODD KELLY Kmart Racing Holden VX 2. GREG MURPHY Kmart Racing Holden VX 3. CRAIG LOWNDES Gibson Motorsport Ford AU 4. MARK SKAIFE Holden Racing Team Holden VX 5. MARCOS AMBROSE Pirtek Racing Ford AU11 6. PAUL RADISICH Shell Helix Racing Ford AU 7. JASON BARGWANNA Valvoline Cummins Race Team Holden VX 8. STEVEN RICHARDS Ford Tickford Racing Ford AU 9. JASON RICHARDS NZ Business / Team Kiwi Racing Holden VT 10. STEVE ELLERY Supercheap Auto Racing Racing Ford AU