The oldest driver in the 3-Hour Bathurst Showroom Showdown will be Murray Carter at the age of 67. Paul Dumbrell is the youngest at only 16 - 51 years younger than Murray. Both will compete in Class B, Murray teamed with Wayne Vinckx aboard a Nissan 200 SX while Paul will share with another youngster, Dean Canto aboard a Subaru Impreza WRX. The Dodge Viper GTS has the largest engine capacity in the field at a huge eight litres. This compares to the tiny Suzuki Swifts in Class E which only have an engine capacity of 1.3 litres. GT Production racecars are extremely close to their road going versions. Many of the cars competing in the 3-Hour Bathurst Showroom Showdown are actually road registered. Perth driver Allan Letcher's Honda Civic was actually driven from Perth to Brisbane to "run the car in" when it debuted in the 1996 championship. The GT Production category has grown substantially over the past four years. From an initial list of only nine entrants in 1995, GTP will fill the Bathurst grid with 55 cars. Since the launch of the five class system in 1996, Porsche and Subaru have been the most successful manufacturers in GTP. They have won Class A and B respectively with their 911 RSCS and Impreza WRX models each year. Class C has been taken by Ford (2 championship wins) and Toyota (1), Class D by Mazda (2) and Toyota (1) and Class E by Suzuki (2) and Ford (1). Andrej Pavicevic and Chris Kousparis are the only two drivers in GTP to win championships in different classes. Pavicevic won the Class E title in 1996 aboard a Suzuki Swift and followed with the Class B championship in 1997 aboard a Subaru Impreza WRX. Kousparis clinched the Class D title in 1996 and then succeeded in Class B this year aboard a Subaru. Pavicevic and 1996 outright champion Cameron McConville have utilised GTP as a great stepping stone for their careers. Pavicevic this year competed in the British Formula 3 Championship while McConville earned a seat with Audi in Super Touring following his GTP win and will also compete with John Bowe in the FAI 1000 Classic in V8 Supercars at Bathurst. John Bowe, Neil Crompton, Jim Richards, Brad Jones, Neal Bates and Tony Longhurst are just some of the stars who have "moonlighted" in GTP in recent years. The 1998 3-Hour Bathurst Showroom Showdown will include 28 different models of cars and 15 individual manufacturers in the capacity entry list. Captains of industry competing in the 3-Hour Showroom Showdown include John Cowley (Queensland Newspapers), Rob Porter (OAMPS Insurance), Daniel Wilkie (FAI Insurance) and PROCAR Chairman, Ross Palmer.