Former IndyCar team joins USF2000

Chastain Motorsports has revealed it will field two full-time entries in the 2016 USF2000 championship.

The team, which ran Stephane Gregoire in the Indy Racing League in 1997 and ’98, and took a podium at Pikes Peak International Raceway, most recently fielded former Formula 1 driver Roberto Moreno in the 2007 Indy 500.

Chastain has since switched its attention to F1600 and F2000 categories, taking a number of race wins in the former series, but has now joined the Mazda Road To Indy.

Its first signing for the new USF2000 venture - 22-year-old Sam Chastain - was a race winner in F1600 in 2014 and moved up to F2000 the year after, ending the season eighth overall with two podium finishes.

The rest of the line-up is yet to be confirmed, with the team noting that it could run more than two cars.

2016 USF2000 line-up so far

Team Driver
Cape  Parker Thompson
 Nikita Lastochkin
Chastain  Sam Chastain
Pabst  Garth Rickards
 Yufeng Luo
Pelfrey  Robert Megennis
 Jordan Cane
 TJ Fischer
RJB  Michai Stephens
Spencer  Eric Filgueiras


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series USF2000
Article type Breaking news