Rocketsports Racing Wins Second-Straight Team Owners' Championship

INDIANAPOLIS (Sept. 17, 2004) -- The No. 11 Rocketsports Racing team, which fields the Jaguar R Performance XKR for 2004 Motorock Trans-Am Series Drivers' Championship runner-up Tommy Kendall, has won the 2004 Team Owners' Championship. The team championship is part of a trio of titles earned by the team, based in East Lansing, Mich. The team also won Drivers' Championship with Paul Gentilozzi, and it played a major role in Jaguar winning its fourth Manufacturers' Championship. It's also the team's second consecutive team owners' award.

The championship is awarded by car number and points are based on starting and finishing positions, and bonus points are awarded for gaining five or more positions, finishing a race, completing at least one lap, finishing on the lead lap, and setting the fastest race lap. The No. 11 team finished with 159 points, 11 markers ahead of the No. 3 Rocketsports team (Gentilozzi). The No. 49 Derhaag Motorsports team (Randy Ruhlman) was third, followed by the No. 5 Rocketsports (Tomy Drissi) team, and the No. 8 JD Racing Promotions squad (Jorge Diaz, Jr.).

"Winning the Team Owners' Championship is a true honor," said Harry "Butch" Warren, operations manager for Rocketsports Racing. "This championship came right down to the wire, showing just how hard all of the teams worked this year. My hat's off to all of them.

"The award shows dedication and determination paid off for our Rocketsports Racing team," added Warren. "(Crew Chief) Troy Cowgill and the rest of our Trans-Am team overcame four DNFs early in the season to tie the drivers' points. This team showed its true character. They met each challenge with a positive attitude and a productive solution.

"The new Jaguar AJ-V8 engine overcame many hurdles this season," concluded Warren. "It had little track time, but had performed well on the dyno. As the season progressed, each race highlighted new challenges, which were addressed by our engine department, led by Tony Gentilozzi. The engine showed its true potential by year's end and this award is testament to that."

Kendall was quick to credit his team for his success this season.

"With everything the team went through this year, to come back and tie in drivers' points, it's fitting they get the proper recognition for their all-around performance," said the four-time Trans-Am titleholder. "The team's performance this year was nothing short of spectacular."

The Motorock Trans-Am Series features closed-fendered, production-based, V-8-powered sports cars, competing on permanent road courses, and temporary street and airport circuits throughout North America. The Trans-Am Series is America's oldest continuously running road racing series and celebrated its 39th year of competition in 2004.

-trans am-