LANSING, Mich. -- 2003 Motorock Trans-Am Tour for the BFGoodrich Tires Cup champion Scott Pruett's name has been placed on the Road Racing ballot for the 2003 Auto Racing All-America team. American Auto Racing Writers & Broadcasters Ass'n members will vote from among six drivers named in each category.

Pruett simply dominated the 2003 Trans-Am title chase in his No. 7 Motorock/Jaguar R Performance XKR, winning eight races in 11 starts, earning nine poles, and finishing off the podium just twice en route to his third Trans-Am Drivers' Championship. Pruett returned to Trans-Am racing this season after an eight-year hiatus, during which he competed in the Champ Car World Series and NASCAR.

"I am privileged to be nominated for this award, one of the most prestigious honors in motorsports," said Pruett. "The driver receives the most recognition, but this was truly a team effort. It's just been a tremendous season, but I couldn't have done it without my Rocketsports team and Jaguar. The only problems we had this year where when the driver parked it in the mud at Lime Rock and when a rear hub pin drive failed at Puerto Rico. It has been a nearly flawless season, and I think that showed."

Two nominees from the Road Racing category will be named to the first team, to be honored at the annual AARWBA banquet Jan. 10 in Pomona, Calif. The winner of the Jerry Titus Award will also be announced at the banquet. The Titus Award honors the team's top driver--the one earning the most votes in the balloting regardless of category.

The balloting will also determine a second team of the drivers placing third and fourth in each category, and honorable mentions to all other drivers receiving at least five percent of the vote. AARWBA members have annually chosen an All-America Auto Racing Team since 1970. Almost 300 members of the motorsports press have been sent their annual ballot to select the 2003 Auto Racing All-America team.

Pruett joins ALMS regulars Frank Biela, Ron Fellows and Marco Werner, as well as Grand-Am racers Terry Borchellor and Tommy Riggins on the Road Racing ballot.

The Motorock Trans-Am Tour features closed-fendered, production-based, V-8-powered sports cars, competing on permanent road courses, and temporary street and airport circuits throughout North America. The Trans-Am Tour is America's oldest continuously running road racing series and will celebrate its 39th anniversary in 2004.

Motorock is the creation of a popular culture brand that blends the enthusiast markets of cars, stars and guitars. It is a yearly series of destination live events that showcases the excitement of motorsports, music and lifestyle while delivering a unique new form of broadcast entertainment programming.