Pruett Nominated for Second-Straight DRIVER OF THE YEAR Award

LANSING, Mich. -- 2003 Motorock Trans-Am Tour for the BFGoodrich Tires Cup Drivers' Champion Scott Pruett has been named a fourth-quarter nominee for the 2003 DRIVER OF THE YEAR award. Pruett, who won eight of 11 races this year in the No. 7 Motorock/Jaguar R Performance XKR en route to his third Trans-Am title, was nominated for the second-straight time, after being named a third-quarter candidate.

Pruett joins an elite group of eight drivers chosen from different forms of North American auto racing. In its 37th year, the DRIVER OF THE YEAR's award for this quarter will be determined by an independent vote of the 18-member panel of blue ribbon auto racing journalists and broadcasters and one vote based on the cumulative tally of fans' voting at, which will take place through Saturday, Nov. 22.

Drivers' achievements are evaluated using the following criteria: track performance--wins, top-five finishes, top-ten finishes and pole qualifying; sportsmanship--conduct and professionalism; humanitarianism--participation in and willingness to support philanthropic causes; and fan recognition--popularity among motorsports enthusiasts. At the end of the year a special and separate vote will be held for the 2003 DRIVER OF THE YEAR.

"This is an honor," said Pruett, who in addition to his Trans-Am Tour duties this year competed in two Winston Cup races, with a best career finish of second at Watkins Glen. Pruett was also a regular in the booth for the 2003 Champ Car World Series broadcasts. "It's obvious that we had a great season in Trans-Am with the help of Jaguar and Rocketsports, plus we had great success in the Winston Cup race at Watkins Glen."

Pruett is also heavily involved in the Make-A-Wish Foundation, which grants wishes of children with life-threatening medical conditions.

"The Make-A-Wish Foundation is very important to me," said Pruett. "It's very rewarding to go out and do what I can for charity. It is a focal point in my life."

Other drivers nominated for the fourth-quarter voting are: Greg Anderson and Kenny Bernstein (NHRA); Dale Earnhardt, Jr., Ryan Newman and Jeff Gordon (NASCAR); Sam Hornish, Jr. (IRL); and Steve Kinser (World of Outlaws).

The winner of the quarterly voting will be given a trophy and a Maurice Lacroix Swiss Watch, the official watch of the DRIVER OF THE YEAR program, to commemorate the honor.

The Motorock Trans-Am Tour features closed-fendered, production-based, V-8-powered sports cars, competing on permanent road courses, and temporary street and airport circuits throughout North America. The Trans-Am Tour is America's oldest continuously running road racing series and will celebrate its 39th anniversary in 2003.

Motorock is the creation of a popular culture brand that blends the enthusiast markets of cars, stars and guitars. It is a yearly series of destination live events that showcases the excitement of motorsports, music and lifestyle while delivering a unique new form of broadcast entertainment programming.

-trans am-