ENGLEWOOD, Colo. -- For the second consecutive year, BFGoodrich Tires Trans-Am Series Drivers' Champion Paul Gentilozzi has been named to the First Team of the American Auto Racing Writers & Broadcasters Association (AARWBA) All-America Auto Racing Team, while Drivers' Championship runner-up Brian Simo was selected to the AARWBA Second Team after receiving an Honorable Mention in 1998. Gentilozzi, of Lansing, Mich., also earned AARWBA First Team honors in 1998, and this year joins fellow First Team All-America Auto Racing Team racing stars Dale Jarett, John Force, Juan Montoya and Elliott Forbes-Robinson, among others, after claiming his second-straight Trans-Am Series title. "It's a lot harder to defend a championship than it is to win one," said Gentilozzi. "The second championship is even more special because it's validation of your abilities and success, particularly since we switched from the Corvette to the Mustang. I'm delighted that the motorsports media recognized this accomplishment -- It's a privilege to be elected by the press to the All-American First Team in two consecutive years." The AARWBA All-America Team annually recognizes the top 12 drivers from the motorsports year. Votes are collected from the AARWBA membership in six categories -- Road Racing, Stock Car Racing, Open Wheel Racing, Drag Racing, Short Track and At Large. Gentilozzi and the rest of the AARWBA All-America Team honorees will be recognized January 15, 2000, at the All-America Team Banquet at the Renaissance Long Beach Hotel in Long Beach, Calif. The banquet is open to the public. Ticket information is available from AARWBA, 922 N. Pass Ave., Burbank, Calif. 91505, or call (818) 842-7005.